Favored Class Bonuses


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Is it legal to take a favored class bonus for a class feature you plan for future levels? For instance, may I choose the 1/2 effective level for an oracle revelation if I do not have that revelation yet?

Grand Lodge

No, because you have to have the ability modified to take any modifier to it.

As examples:

Paladins can't take Extra Channel until they gain the ability to spend Lay On Hands uses to Channel Energy.

Rangers can't take Nature Bond until they actually have the Animal Companion.

So, no, you can't take a bonus to a revelation you don't have yet.


Yes and no. As long as you have the oracle class, then sure. Otherwise, no.

For example, at 1st level, you can take the Gifted Adept or Magical Lineage trait for a 3rd-level spell; it just wouldn't have any effect until you got that spell. Likewise, you can take the elven or aasimar favored class option to add +1/2 to your oracle level for the effect of a revelation that you don't have yet.

However, on pgs. 23 and 85 of the ARG, it specifies that the option is for elves and aasimars who have the listed favored class. So, you can't do that until you're an oracle.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Favored Class Bonuses All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.