
![]() |

The rules seem pretty clear that if you use an immediate action it counts as your swift action for the coming round.
Is it okay to use an immediate action following a swift action?
For example: encounter starts, no one is surprised, everyone rolls initiative.
The party's Wizard wins initiative and goes first. On her turn she uses a swift action.
Next to go is the evil Ogre. The evil Ogre decides to bullrush the Wizard off a cliff. The Ogre succeeds.
Can the Wizard use an immediate action to cast feather fall?

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Swift Actions
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
Cast a Quickened Spell
You can cast a quickened spell (see the Quicken Spell feat), or any spell whose casting time is designated as a free or swift action, as a swift action. Only one such spell can be cast in any round, and such spells don't count toward your normal limit of one spell per round. Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity.
Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
Turn: In a round, a creature receives one turn, during which it can perform a wide variety of actions. Generally in the course of one turn, a character can perform one standard action, one move action, one swift action, and a number of free actions. Less-common combinations of actions are permissible as well, see Combat for more details.
You have 1 immediate/swift action each round.
From the text above it recharge after the end of your turn so it is possible to use a swift action in your turn, then an immediate action after your turn has ended.The immediate action consume your swift action of the following round.