
| Mage Evolving | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            If you are prone can you flank an opponent? My Dm allowed it but I couldn't help but feel that I was breaking a rule somewhere.
Last session my inquisitor was knocked down by the BBEG. However, rather than take an AoO for getting up I attacked from the ground. I figured the +4 from outflank would negate the -4 for being prone.

|  Rendrin | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Yeah, the prone condition doesn't say you don't threaten.
"The character is lying on the ground. A prone attacker has a –4 penalty on melee attack rolls and cannot use a ranged weapon (except for a crossbow). A prone defender gains a +4 bonus to Armor Class against ranged attacks, but takes a –4 penalty to AC against melee attacks.
Standing up is a move-equivalent action that provokes an attack of opportunity."
I would just use exactly what's written in the book and not add to or try to read into things too much. I actually have a problem with the latter one myself haha.

|  Matt Bray | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            In order to count as flanking you must threaten the square containing the opponent you want to flank.
In order to threaten a square you must be able to attack that square at that moment.
Being prone gives you a -4 penalty to attack; therefore you MAY attack!
Therefore a prone character threatens adjacent squares as if he was standing, but attacks at -4.
The bonus for flanking is +2, not +4. So the net penalty to attack would be -2. Your ally would flank as normal.

| Mage Evolving | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Mage Evolving wrote:Matt Bray wrote:As I said my Inquisitor has Outflank. Giving me a +4.
The bonus for flanking is +2, not +4. So the net penalty to attack would be -2. Your ally would flank as normal.Ah! I missed that!
Please accept my apologies.
Does the rest make sense?
Apologies accepted :).
I just read my response over and I didn't mean to sound like an a$$. Sorry about that.
But yeah. The rest of the post does make a great deal of sense.

|  Matt Bray | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            I would only allow it if the prone target had attacked the 'flanked' target that round or still had his action left in that round. Otherwise, if he had attacked someone else, i would draw the line there and say no.
Why?
The rules are clear. What justification do you have for breaking them? Have you found a rule that limits a prone character's melee attacks beyond the -4 penalty? Is there a rule which says flanking is different for prone creatures?
Or is that just a houserule?
 
	
 
     
     
     
	
  
	
  
 
                
                