Targeting a ranged spell by touch.


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I seem to recall reading someplace that you can target a spell by touch, if you can't see what you want to cast it on.

A spell that is not "Range Touch". One that is "Range Close".

Is this just a "house rule"? or is it in the rules someplace I can't find?


nosig wrote:

I seem to recall reading someplace that you can target a spell by touch, if you can't see what you want to cast it on.

A spell that is not "Range Touch". One that is "Range Close".

Is this just a "house rule"? or is it in the rules someplace I can't find?

If you can't see it, you can't exactly touch or cast a spell directly on it. Sounds like a houserule to me.

Dark Archive

from the PRD under the header of "magic":

Quote:

Line of Effect: A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It's like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it's not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast.

A burst, cone, cylinder, or emanation spell affects only an area, creature, or object to which it has line of effect from its origin (a spherical burst's center point, a cone-shaped burst's starting point, a cylinder's circle, or an emanation's point of origin).

An otherwise solid barrier with a hole of at least 1 square foot through it does not block a spell's line of effect. Such an opening means that the 5-foot length of wall containing the hole is no longer considered a barrier for purposes of a spell's line of effect.

You only need line of effect and not line of sight for spells.


Happler wrote:
You only need line of effect and not line of sight for spells.

You should have quoted the "Target" section of the Magic rules as well. You must be able to see or touch the target(s) for a spell:

Magic wrote:
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.

Dark Archive

Are wrote:
Happler wrote:
You only need line of effect and not line of sight for spells.

You should have quoted the "Target" section of the Magic rules as well. You must be able to see or touch the target(s) for a spell:

Magic wrote:
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.

So, per the RAW you have to be able to see or touch the target of a sending spell?

Quote:

School evocation; Level cleric 4, sorcerer/wizard 5

Casting Time 10 minutes

Components V, S, M/DF (fine copper wire)

Range see text

Target one creature

Duration 1 round; see text

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

You contact a particular creature with which you are familiar and send a short message of 25 words or less to the subject. The subject recognizes you if it knows you. It can answer in like manner immediately. A creature with an Intelligence score as low as 1 can understand the sending, though the subject's ability to react is limited as normal by its Intelligence. Even if the sending is received, the subject is not obligated to act upon it in any manner.

If the creature in question is not on the same plane of existence as you are, there is a 5% chance that the sending does not arrive. (Local conditions on other planes may worsen this chance considerably.)


I would suggest that the first (and the last) sentence of that spell modifies the normal targeting rules, or otherwise simply jot that down as another rules inconsistency.

The Exchange

So, say I have a human in a cave. He wants to cast a spell on the creature next to him. He can't see it, but he can touch it. Can he target the spell?

the spell is say...:

1) a Cure Light Wounds

2) a Silence

3) a Blindness

Thanks for your help!

Dark Archive

Per the target rules posted by Are, you can.

1) Cure light wounds = Yes as it is a range touch spell anyway.

2) Silence = Yes, as the rules state you you must be able to see or touch the target to cast on it. But you had better cast BLindness on it first, as the silence will effect you also (as you are within 20' of your target to touch them).

3) Blindness = Yes as per previous rules quoted

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Targeting a ranged spell by touch. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.