
Ravingdork |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

From Ultimate Equipment:
If the wielder attempts to load the weapon with other ammunition, the created arrow or bolt immediately vanishes and the wielder can load the weapon as normal. This ability does not reduce the amount of time required to load or fire the weapon. The created arrow or bolt vanishes if removed from the weapon; it persists only if fired. Unlike normal bow and crossbow ammunition, these arrows and bolts are always destroyed when fired.
So do I need to spend an action to load/reload an endless ammunition crossbow or not? There seem to be two contradictory lines of text within the ability.

HaraldKlak |

From Ultimate Equipment:
** spoiler omitted **
So do I need to spend an action to load/reload an endless ammunition crossbow or not? There seem to be two contradictory lines of text within the ability.
While the first line could be worded better, the two isn't exactly contradictory.
The weapon still needs to be loaded, thus requiring the action, you just don't have to use ammo for it.But a repeating crossbow might be able to use only the reload action.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I read it as it takes a normal action to load the weapon with ammo other than the ammo generated magically. In the case of a crossbow, you still need to crank or pull the string so this wouldn't change anything action wise as the drawing and knocking (or placing) has always been either a free action or part of the reload. Either way you read it I has the effect of making the weapon not use ammo, but doesn't effect the actions sexed to operate the weapon.

Richard Leonhart |

the text (in the strictest sense) is not contradictory, you don't need to load the weapon with ammunition, but you still need to load the weapon ("act if").
So it's pretty clear the ability does not reduce the amount of time (taking an arrow from the quiver is thus a free action, putting it on the crossbow is not).

Brox RedGloves |

To put it another way, think of the weapon as having the same effect as that Ranger (Hank) in the old D&D cartoon. He still had to pull the string to make the ammo appear (even though that also had the property "Brilliant Energy" as well). By the same token, the cord needs to be pulled (or cranked) on a crossbow, thus necessitating an action.

Benly |
As I read it, you never need to load the weapon with ammunition per the first paragraph. You can fire the thing all day without ever loading it.
However, the second paragraph says that you can choose to load the weapon with ammunition, in which case doing so takes the usual amount of time (if, for example, you want to use special materials to overcome DR).
So, no, you don't have to spend a reload action, but you may do so if you want to load special ammo.