Spellslinger and Spontaneous Casting


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

In another thread, there was a discussion involving a cleric or druid's spontaneous casting ability and how it only applied to that classes spells. Since the wording is nearly identical between that and the Spellslinger as far as the interaction between cost and result (i.e. sacrifice spell of level x, gain y result) what is the difference? Or could you have a cleric with spontaneous casting convert Wizard slots into heal spells the same way a Spellslinger can convert cleric spells into gun blasts? Or is it incorrect that a Spellslinger can convert spells from another class with his Mage Bullets ability?

Grand Lodge

Spellslinger uses wizard spells and wizard spells alone.


I was looking for some help for a type of gun cleric, and I was pointed to the spellsinger by numerous people. So by majority rule I'd say that yes a spellsinger can convert other spells in to his mage bullets. As to the Cleric spontaneous casting, that does seem pretty class specific.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There is no wording in Mage Bullets restricting it to Wizard spells alone.

Scarab Sages

Azten wrote:
There is no wording in Mage Bullets restricting it to Wizard spells alone.

There's no wording in Spontaneous Casting limiting it to Druid or Cleric spells alone either, which was kind of the gist of what I was getting at.....

They both just mention spells, not "arcane/divine spells" or "spells from this class".

The argument was made that unless specifically stating otherwise, class abilities apply specifically to that class, which would shut down both, but majority rule seems to indicate that the Spellslinger's ability applies to all spells accessible. I would think that the same rules would apply to both given their wording:

Mage Bullets:
Mage Bullets (Su): A spellslinger is adept at transferring spell energy into his arcane gun attacks. As a swift action, he can sacrifice a spell and transform that energy into a weapon bonus equal to the level of the spell sacrificed on a single barrel of his firearm. With that weapon bonus the spellslinger can apply any of the following to his arcane bond: enhancement bonuses (up to +5) and dancing, defending, distance, flaming, flaming burst, frost, ghost touch, icy burst, merciful, seeking, shock, shocking burst, spell storing, thundering, vicious, and wounding. An arcane gun gains no benefit from having two of the same weapon special abilities on the same barrel. The effect of the mage bullets ability lasts for a number of minutes equal to the level of the spell sacrificed, or until this ability is used again to assign the barrel different enhancements. This ability replaces cantrips, but the spellslinger gains the detect magic and read magic cantrips and places them in his spellbook. He can cast either of these as 1st-level spells.

Spontaneous Casting:
Spontaneous Casting: A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).

An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) can't convert prepared spells to cure spells but can convert them to inflict spells (an inflict spell is one with “inflict” in its name).

A cleric who is neither good nor evil and whose deity is neither good nor evil can convert spells to either cure spells or inflict spells (player's choice). Once the player makes this choice, it cannot be reversed. This choice also determines whether the cleric channels positive or negative energy (see Channel Energy).

The only stipulation in Spontaneous Casting is what spells you can't use.


The argument could be made for the Spont. Casting that, since it mentions Orisons and Domain spells, that it only applies to cleric spells.

Why a Deity would care whether or not what spells get's turned into healing, especially with the Bard's arcane version, is beyond me.


Yup, I'd agree. That seems RAW. RAI, probably not. But RAW, yeah.

There's some cheese here though. It doesn't say you can convert it into a cure spell you know, just one of the same level or lower. Which means a Cleric 1/Wizard 19 could cast Cure Critical Wounds spontaneously. One level dip in cleric essentially gives you access to healing spells as a Wizard.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spellslinger and Spontaneous Casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions