Incorporeal Undead and Cure Wounds


Rules Questions


I have a little question about Incorporeal Undead and Cure Wounds.

If an Incorporeal Undead is hit by Cure Wounds it will take only half damage, right? Because only Channel Energy make 100% damage on Incorporeal.

So, what if the Incorporeal Undead do not fail the Will Save? It will takes only 25% damage, or will take no damage? ("[...]Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy)[...]")

Or Cure Wounds is a Force Spells? ("[...]Force spells and effects, such as from a magic missile, affect an incorporeal creature normally.[...]"). In this case I will follow the normal rule of Undead (if the Will Safe fails take all damage)

In my opinion it will takes only 25%... but I just want to be sure I am not making any mistake...


I also ask about other spells that needs saving throw for half damage.
For example, fire balls: if the Incorporeal Undead do not fail the saving throw, it will take only 25% of the total damage, right?


Cure Light Wounds is positive energy as far as i know. I think that's why being on the positive energy plane affects it though i could be wrong.

But yes i'd say in the case of a successful save they would only take 1/4 damage or half of half, however you wanna split hairs.


According to the Bestiary 1 errata, positive energy effects bypass incorporeality.

Liberty's Edge

I have never seen any other ruling. CLW (even from a wand) affects incorporeal undead just as channeling positive energy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Incorporeal Undead and Cure Wounds All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.