Dismissing a Potion


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is it possible for the drinker of a potion to dismiss the effect? Take enlarge person for example, would a person be stuck in a large body for the duration of the potion's effect? I'm not sure, I don't think so, but I would like to get another opinion.

I'm interested in making an "Alice In Wonderland" inspired trap.

The rules are confusing. Dismissing a spell requires speaking words of dismissal, but the drinker of the potion is the effective target and caster of the effect and controls the effect. How would a fighter know the words of dismissal?


I have never see a rule requiring words of dismissal. I do know that the drinker of the potion is the caster for the purpose of deciding when a potion ends.

prd wrote:
The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect).

Liberty's Edge

Duration (Magic chapter) wrote:


(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.

You are the caster but the potion probably isn't cast at your caster level. It can be from a spell list to which you don't have access or your character could not have access to spells at all.

I would say a very tentative No.

For your "Alice In Wonderland" inspired trap you can make it a kind of cursed potion and bypass the problem, but it is an interesting question. FAQed.


If you want to make it a trap then I would make it a cursed item. The person gains the drawback, but not the benefits of being enlarged.


No, you cannot dismiss.


Thanks.

I had no idea there was a thread where you could ask questions of James Jacobs directly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissing a Potion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.