Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Upgrading +X items and ioun stones in PFS


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

*

I have a couple questions about the rules to upgrade items in PFS:

1) Can inferior ioun stones be upgraded to normal ioun stones by paying the difference in price?

2) A belt of giant strength +2 can be upgraded to a belt of giant strength +4, but can it be upgraded to a belt of physical might +2? It doesn't change any of the item's prereqs, just adds new ones.

Scarab Sages *** Star Voter 2014

No to both. The upgrading of +X items allows you to only go from +X to a higher +X. Its fine to go from a belt of giant strength +2 to a belt of giant strength +4, but not to the belt of physical might. And for the ioun stones, they're not +X items, they're just unique magical items that provide a +X benefit so they're not upgradeable.

Sovereign Court ***** Venture-Captain, Minnesota—St. Paul , Dedicated Voter 2013

Actually Mourne, you are half correct.

You cannot upgrade Ioun Stones from inferior to normal, because they are different materials. The base materials can't be changed.

You can, however, upgrade a belt with a +2 Str to a Belt with +2 Str & +2 Dex or +2 Con and later add the 3rd at +2. Should you want to upgrade to +4, then all stats modified by the belt must include the upgrade. So if you had a +2 Str/+2 Con you'd need to upgrade it to +4/+4. If you wanted to add Dex to your +4 Str/+4 Con, you'd need to add it at +4. You cannot have an item that is +2 in one stat and +4 in another. This is also true for the mental headbands.

Liberty's Edge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

There's an official clarification that (2) is OK here. This ruling was confirmed as still being valid here.

Scarab Sages *** Star Voter 2014

I did not know that on the belts. I'll admit that I was wrong there and that I actually learned something new today. =)

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Paz wrote:
There's an official clarification that (2) is OK here. This ruling was confirmed as still being valid here.

Wow, I could have sworn I remembered that ruling getting reversed. Well, this certainly changes my shopping plans for my fighter! :)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Upgrading +X items and ioun stones in PFS All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.