Throwing Splash Weapons


Rules Questions


In CRB, it states that 'preparing to throw a splash weapon' (pg. 183) is a full-round action. What does that exactly mean?

Do you first need to:

1. Use a move action to take it out of backpack
2. In the next round spend a full round action preparing to throw it
3. In the next round actually throw it

Or:

1. Using a full-round action means taking it out of backpack
2. In the next round spend a standard action to throw it

Point is, I really have no idea why preparing Alchemist's Fire would take a full-round action. Who would bother with that in that case?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Never noticed that before. My guess is its entry on the table is a mistake.


Black Wolf wrote:

In CRB, it states that 'preparing to throw a splash weapon' (pg. 183) is a full-round action. What does that exactly mean?

The rules do refer to one splash weapon that takes a full-round action to prepare:

Quote:
Oil: A pint of oil burns for 6 hours in a lantern or lamp. You can also use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist's fire (see Special Substances and Items on Table: Goods and Services), except that it takes a full-round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully.

Liberty's Edge

I've generally seen this for setting up a flask of oil with a lit rag to make a fire bomb. I've never seen it applied otherwise. In the case where the prep were needed, it would be separate from retrieving it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Throwing Splash Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.