Eidolons and Enlarge Person


Rules Questions


My Forum-fu is weak here, so I haven't managed to find a concrete answer on this question. Has there been an Paizo Editor who's answered this basic question.

Can a summoner cast "Enlarge Person" on his Eidelon?

The answer appears to be "Yes", because the "Share Spells" feature alters any and all spells the Summoner have so that "Outsider" is a valid option for any spell with a creature type limitation. Enlarge Person only works on Humanoids, but in the hands of a Summoner, it's also valid for Outsiders, specific to the Eidelon.

In theory. I really would like a link to a Paizo editor who's answered this question.

Liberty's Edge

Sentack wrote:

My Forum-fu is weak here, so I haven't managed to find a concrete answer on this question. Has there been an Paizo Editor who's answered this basic question.

Can a summoner cast "Enlarge Person" on his Eidelon?

The answer appears to be "Yes", because the "Share Spells" feature alters any and all spells the Summoner have so that "Outsider" is a valid option for any spell with a creature type limitation. Enlarge Person only works on Humanoids, but in the hands of a Summoner, it's also valid for Outsiders, specific to the Eidelon.

In theory. I really would like a link to a Paizo editor who's answered this question.

Share Spells (Ex):
The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon's type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list. This ability does not allow the eidolon to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

It says it does exactly what you have said. There are spells, like enlarge person, that normally an outsider is not a valid target. The summoner can cast these spells on the Eidelon. An editor isn't needed to confirm that you've understood it correctly. If there is some confusion that would cause you to question your valid understanding...what is that?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolons and Enlarge Person All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions