
Ravingdork |

Is a flying carpet or a cauldron of flying attended while in use?
If I'm flying about and suddenly cast teleport, does the carpet/cauldron come along with me? If I turn invisible, does the c/c do so as well? Why or why not?
What EXACTLY does it take to qualify something as being attended?

![]() |

An object is attended by a creature that holds it, carries it or controls its movement, but not necessarily by a creature merely touching it.
Actually, just a touch is all it takes.
pp. 174 Core Rulebook -- An item attended by a character (being grasped,
touched, or worn) makes saving throws as the character
(that is, using the character’s saving throw bonus).

![]() |

What if the owner of said item 'wants' to get rid of the item?
Like, say, a shackled prisoner who needs help breaking his bonds or a slave needed help removing his magicked collar? Is the item considered attended then?
By the most technical reading of the rules, it would be attended. On the other hand, you can willingly fail a save, or not try to dodge an attack, in which case the item's attendedness in the case of shackles actually works against it; the wearer would hold the shackles out to be hit, not move them out of the way of an effect that allows a save, etc. In that case, the item is probably more vulnerable to an effect than an unattended item.