Spell resistance vs. wondrous item


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

There's been a similar thread before in which two posters said their house rules (which are the same as I'd use if there's no official ruling, and so would Research, in chat just now) for spell resistance vs a wondrous item is done with a caster level check using the item's caster level. Is this official anywhere? It seems to me sense to me -- a Major Crown of Blasting is pretty crappy for the money if the CL is the minimum for the searing light spell (5) but OKish if the CL is the item's CL )17) -- but I wondered if there was anything official about it.

Dark Archive

SRD:"Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers

Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staves are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DCs. "

Sovereign Court

But that's about saving throws, not spell resistance (which is countered by a caster level check).

Dark Archive

Bagpuss wrote:
But that's about saving throws, not spell resistance (which is countered by a caster level check).

Oops.

SRD:

"From Magic Item Descriptions (Caster Level): For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level).

From Creating Magic Armor: Creating magic armor has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the armor. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. Magic armor or a magic shield must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to have any armor or shield special abilities.

Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. A magic weapon must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to have any melee or ranged special weapon abilities."

Sovereign Court

Yeah, that's the only thing that touches on it, so far as I can see. Other than that, it seems to me that the cost of a Major Crown of Blasting is too high if it only has a CL of 5 (minimum for Searing Light) or 10 (minumum for a 5d8 Searing Light) or level 11 (minimum for maximised Searing Light), which is why I tend to think that the item's Caster Level is the effect's Caster Level.


ZomB wrote:


SRD:

"From Magic Item Descriptions (Caster Level): For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level).

And here we go again.

I still say the Magic Item creation rules are confusing. Where I may understand them enough, someone picking the book up now and reading them will not understand as some of the rules that are written in the book have been amended by the Devs.

In the example above, what you had bolded. I had asked a question specificially dealing with this in another thread, if the creator could create the wonderous item at a higher caster level than what is listed in the book. And Sean Reynolds came back with this:

Sean K. Reynolds wrote:


For many items, the CL provides no benefit except resistance to dispel attempts. A bag of holding is an example of this... its powers aren't based on CL. Thus, the wiz17 could make his bag at CL 9th (the default), CL17th (his own CL), or anything in between. I probably wouldn't let him make it at CL 1st, as secret chest requires CL 9th and the item is based on that, but if he really wanted to I supposed I'd let him. None of these choices affect the price, cost, time, or craft DC in any way, because the CL doesn't affect the item's abilities.

Here is the post.

So even though it isn't RAW, it was answered by a developer, which I would consider official. The problem is people who don't frequent these boards (like my DM), won't know this. I hope to see this, and a lot of the magic item creation rules, clarified with FAQs.

Sovereign Court

Has a developer ever answered whether the CL of the item is used for caster level checks to overcome spell resistance, though? That's the implication I take from that sentence, but I wondered if there had ever been anything said which was more explicit (for example, mentioning Spell Resistance specifically).

Dark Archive

Bagpuss wrote:
Yeah, that's the only thing that touches on it, so far as I can see. Other than that, it seems to me that the cost of a Major Crown of Blasting is too high if it only has a CL of 5 (minimum for Searing Light) or 10 (minumum for a 5d8 Searing Light) or level 11 (minimum for maximised Searing Light), which is why I tend to think that the item's Caster Level is the effect's Caster Level.

Reverse engineering from price is the only way to have any confidence in the actual caster level of the effect, and this isn't always easy, though it should be for the Crown.

Price (23780) = caster level * spell level (3 maximized=6) * 1800 (command item) / 5 (once per day)

Or caster level = 23780 / (6 x 1800 / 5) = 11

So it _is_ the minimum caster level required to cast the sixth level spell (Maximized Searing Light).

EDIT: So the question is why is the requisite caster level listed as 17th - as it doesn't affect the price or the effect level? Doh, it looks like it is a typo for 11th.


Bagpuss wrote:
Has a developer ever answered whether the CL of the item is used for caster level checks to overcome spell resistance, though? That's the implication I take from that sentence, but I wondered if there had ever been anything said which was more explicit (for example, mentioning Spell Resistance specifically).

There is nothing ruled on it. As far as I know, at least.

But I would agree with the two posters you have dealt with in the check uses the CL of the item. As for figuring out the CL of the item, going back to my post above, it’s whatever CL the creator decided to craft it at (no higher than his level, of course).

But if the crown was something acquired out of random treasure, then I would just assign the default CL out of the book.


CL17 for the item isn't a prerequisite, CL on items is a hold-over from 3.x that didn't get removed in time (the decision came late in the process) as was stated by a developer.

Only scrolls, wands, and potions, CL matters, for everything else, the CL can be whatever you make it, limited on the low end by the level of the highest spell needed to make the item (5th lvl spell = CL9 or greater, 8th lvl spell = CL15 or greater) and the max is whatever you make it.
The max caster lvl of an item could be limited by the item creators level, except you don't have to even be the requisite lvl to cast the spells needed to create... so for instance if you were a 5th lvl wizard trying to craft a magic item that required earthquake, you would take a +5 on the DC for not having the spell avail to cast.. and still be able to make the item (if you have the funds). That means the items CL is 15 or greater, but your CL is only 5, making the rule that an item's max CL is your CL unavailable... limiting it to your CL or the minimum CL of the item, whichever is greater, is probably the best way to resolve that issue.

Alternatively, you can take the low end limit off and make the CL of the item = the creator's CL, thereby making it easier for someone to hit with dispel or disjunction, but also allow the creator to "level" the item up as he/she levels up.. so if that 5th lvl wizard made a amulet of natural armor, CL5, and then leveled to 6, allow him/her to level it to CL6 as well, with an hour's worth of work per level gained, per item. (Leveling a CL4 item to CL10 = 6 hours of work, no cost, leveling 2 CL4 items to CL10 = 12 hours of work, etc etc etc).

Liberty's Edge

Hobbun wrote:
But if the crown was something acquired out of random treasure, then I would just assign the default CL out of the book.

This is exactly the point of the default CL out of the book. What is the CL of the item, when it is needed and it's history is not known? This answers that question.

As for OP's original question, ZomB's bolded section isn't limited to just dispel magic. SR also requires a CL check; that is supplied by the item itself per the bolded section.

However, yet once again, the last sentence of ZomB's bolded section has been errata'd out. It isn't there.


Howie23 wrote:
Hobbun wrote:
But if the crown was something acquired out of random treasure, then I would just assign the default CL out of the book.

This is exactly the point of the default CL out of the book. What is the CL of the item, when it is needed and it's history is not known? This answers that question.

Yes, very true. Didn't even think about it until when I read it again later, but just didn't bother to change it. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell resistance vs. wondrous item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions