Multiple Smite Evils?


Rules Questions


If a paladin declares smite evil on an evil target and target leaves the combat for some reason and the paladin declares another smite evil on a new target, are both smite evils in continuous effect? One of my players interprets the smite evil reading as seeing the paladin as having multiple smites ongoing to different targets. I in turn read it is limited to just one target within sight. But he did pose this interesting question and I would welcome any clarification.

Example: Paladin and his group encounter a vampire and a mummy along with a host of skeletons. The paladin declares smite evil on the vampire and delivers a vicious blow. Fearing its destruction, the vampire assumes gaseous form and momentarily flees to allow its fast healing to patch it up.

Seeking to aid his compatriots, the paladin engages the mummy and declares his smite power against it. While still combating the mummy and the skeletons, the vampire returns to the battle. Do both smite evils continue to remain in effect? Or did the first smite evil end because the vampire was no longer in sight? Or say, if the paladin had destroyed the mummy prior to the vampire returning would the first smite continue to remain because the target was not dead, nor had the paladin rested?

Smite Evil (Su): Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess. In addition, while smite evil is in effect, the paladin gains a deflection bonus equal to her Charisma modifier (if any) to her AC against attacks made by the target of the smite. If the paladin targets a creature that is not evil, the smite is wasted with no effect. The smite evil effect remains until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the paladin rests and regains her uses of this ability.

Thank you.


Jester King wrote:

If a paladin declares smite evil on an evil target and target leaves the combat for some reason and the paladin declares another smite evil on a new target, are both smite evils in continuous effect? One of my players interprets the smite evil reading as seeing the paladin as having multiple smites ongoing to different targets. I in turn read it is limited to just one target within sight. But he did pose this interesting question and I would welcome any clarification.

Example: Paladin and his group encounter a vampire and a mummy along with a host of skeletons. The paladin declares smite evil on the vampire and delivers a vicious blow. Fearing its destruction, the vampire assumes gaseous form and momentarily flees to allow its fast healing to patch it up.

Seeking to aid his compatriots, the paladin engages the mummy and declares his smite power against it. While still combating the mummy and the skeletons, the vampire returns to the battle. Do both smite evils continue to remain in effect? Or did the first smite evil end because the vampire was no longer in sight? Or say, if the paladin had destroyed the mummy prior to the vampire returning would the first smite continue to remain because the target was not dead, nor had the paladin rested?

Smite Evil (Su): Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess. In addition, while smite evil is in effect, the...

Yes you can have smites up on multiple targets. This has been confirmed by a dev. I will try to find the quote. Check back in about 5 minutes.

edit 1: Still searching


Yes if a Paladin had multiple uses of Smite Evil they can smite multiple targets. The line "one target within sight to smite" only dictates how you target a creature for the smite.

So a Paladin could smite the vampire on one round and then later use a smite of the mummy during the same encounter.


If your paladin has multiple smites per day then I see no reason why they could not have two active targets for the ability.

It is a new instance of smite evil, the one on the vamipre is still in effect and remains that way until rest or the vampire has died. It was a legal target when the ability was activated. Note that smite evil does not say anything about the target remaining in sight. If the target has since fled, then it is essentially a wasted use of smite evil.

If the paladin now targets the mummy and activates smite evil for a second time - that is their second use this day - and the mummy is now a target of smite evil as well.

Is how I'm reading this.

Edit: I agree with the Brain and Wraithstr1ke


OK, thanks. Seems we already have differing opinions as well.


My search-fu failed. :(

However it works by RAW. I am now annoyed that I could not find that post though.


Thank you.

Seems somewhat odd, allow me to speculate.

Say at the beginning of a harrowing campaign the paladin is tracking down a werewolf and has a mid-afternoon encounter with the lycanthrope in which the paladin declares smite on it and the werewolf flees. The paladin and allies set chase, encounter other monsters and the paladin manages to use his remaining smite evils for that day. Several hours have elapsed and the group tracks and traps the werewolf in its lair, is that mid-afternoon declared smite evil still in effect? It belies logic that it should still be somehow "on".


Jester King wrote:

Thank you.

Seems somewhat odd, allow me to speculate.

Say at the beginning of a harrowing campaign the paladin is tracking down a werewolf and has a mid-afternoon encounter with the lycanthrope in which the paladin declares smite on it and the werewolf flees. The paladin and allies set chase, encounter other monsters and the paladin manages to use his remaining smite evils for that day. Several hours have elapsed and the group tracks and traps the werewolf in its lair, is that mid-afternoon declared smite evil still in effect? It belies logic that it should still be somehow "on".

It would still be on.


Jester King wrote:
It belies logic that it should still be somehow "on".

I don't know, its kind of like declaring target person an outlaw of the land. If they run and hide for a while, the next time you see that person they're still an outlaw when you see them next. They did not get restored to their normal status.

Smite says it sticks with them til they die or the paladin rests, but you can modify this if you wish but it will be going outside of the system (just a little bit, but still).

EDIT: your monsters flee alot ;)


Re Edit: Only the smart ones.

And that "or the paladin rests" is subjective as no definitive time period is given - so it could be as little as allowing the paladin to catch his breath after a particularly strenuous or grueling encounter...


Jester King wrote:
Only the smart ones.

Self preservation is a common instinct after all.


Jester King wrote:

It belies logic that it should still be somehow "on".

I'm not sure why this would be illogical. By what logic? The description of Smite's duration is spelled out quite clearly.


Jester King wrote:
And that "or the paladin rests" is subjective as no definitive time period is given - so it could be as little as allowing the paladin to catch his breath after a particularly strenuous or grueling encounter...

It could also mean that the paladin regain all uses of his smite evil ability every time he isn't taking an action (ie. resting), since the full sentence is "..or the next time the paladin rests and regains her uses of this ability."

I think you are really going out of your way to interpret the ability in the worst possible way. C'mon, we all know what it means to "rest and regain abilities" in game mechanic terms.

It's fair if you want to limit it somehow, but then at least be upfront with your players and make it a house rule, rather than a really strict reading of the ability.


Jester King wrote:


And that "or the paladin rests" is subjective as no definitive time period is given - so it could be as little as allowing the paladin to catch his breath after a particularly strenuous or grueling encounter...

Errr... no you can only use your abilities once per day. Even if you do a mundane rest during the day your special abilities have been expended and will not be recovered. You must wait for the next adventuring day to use your abilities again.

Note: This is from a mechanical standpoint of pathfinder, I have other views on this, but will not dilute this point with my own.


Thank you all, very informative.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Smite Evils? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.