|20 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
The question for FAQ is --> Is the signature skill unlock for the Use Magic Device skill supposed to work when you roll a natural 1 and fail the check?
Below are the skill unlocks for use magic device. They both imply that if you roll a natural you take a -10 penalty on a reattempt, however you can reroll with no penalty by the normal rules anyway. The rules is that if you roll a natural 1 and you fail then you can not use that item for 24 hours.
10 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,
you take a –10 penalty on Use Magic Device checks with that
item for 24 hours instead of being unable to activate it. This
penalty stacks with itself.
20 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,
you can reroll the check at a –10 penalty to activate the item.
You must take the result of the second check, even if it is
worse, and you can’t reroll it again.
Mark Seifter intended for the "If you roll a natural 1...." to be "If you roll a natural 1 and fail to activate an item...."
Huh, I actually changed it to "If you roll a natural 1 and fail to activate an item"...
This change allows for this skill unlock to actually work.
Press the FAQ button please.