|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Just because it says in the book that they're available to everyone doesn't mean they're available to everyone in PFS. You must still have a copy of a race boon for Undines before you can use Undine-specific equipment. That's how it's written in additional resources.
Orth Maul wrote:
You're still sort of missing the point. You can't just "create" a 4th level character in Pathfinder Society. If you want to create your own character, it has to start at 1st level, and you play through lower level scenarios until you level up enough to play a scenario like this one.
If you, instead, would like to play in this scenario now, you'll have to play one of the level 4 pregenerated characters, and you can't change things around on them, you play them as-is. You can then use the credit you earn from playing as the pregen to either start a new personalized character, if you'd like. Most players find the pregens to be a bit lacking in power, so in a "deadly" module like this one, you might find that one of the pregens is lagging behind.
I, personally, would not recommend you start with a higher-level PbP like this one for your first PFS game, I would instead suggest you look on the Recruitment board and find a 1st-level game. Putting your name on DM Kludde's list is a good place to start: DM Kludde Ongoing Recruitment
See, the two reasons why I think it might actually work in this case are:1. The "And their replacements" isn't NECESSARILY implied
2. Wild armor melds with your form (you can't see it anymore) but still keeps giving armor bonus. So I'm no longer WEARING the armor, just getting the armor bonus from it.
Wild Armor wrote:
EDIT: Woot! Ninja'd by the GM!
OK, another question, this time a GM-call type question. My Naga Aspirant has one level of Maneuver Master monk, mostly to get the Flurry of Maneuvers ability. During combat, I'll pretty much always be Wild Shaping into a naga.
Now, the question: If I were to wear armor with the Wild enchantment, which melds into your form when you wild shape and still gives you an armor bonus, would I still be able to use Flurry of Maneuvers? I wouldn't be wearing armor on the outside of his body, and technically Flurry of Blows can't be used when you're wearing armor, but Flurry of Maneuvers doesn't have that restriction in its text. I'm fully okay with losing the Wisdom bonus to AC from my one level of monk, in favor of actual armor bonus that sticks around.
Neal Litherland wrote:
I've actually got a current PFS-legal character (level 6) who can spend a Swift action to give an ally a +10 Dodge bonus to AC, and his mount can spend a Move action to give an ADDITIONAL +5 Dodge bonus to AC, for a +15, and still get his entire full attack action in a round.
Aid another is amazing. Period.
I really don't think the arcanist is going to blow people away, especially at low levels. But I know there are people on these forums who think it's going to completely render both the Wizard and Sorcerer useless. I just don't see it. Maybe at level 20 it will be hands-down better than both of those two, but at early levels it really won't, IMHO.
To be honest, a power-gamer is going to find a way to make a crazy combination with any one of these classes, just like all the current classes. You can always find ways of breaking the game.
As far as ones that the AVERAGE gamer will scare their GM with? I don't know. Perhaps the Brawler, since switching out feats willy-nilly can definitely make for some strong combinations.
I'm doing a similar thing in a non-PFS PbP game right now. I roll 1d54 and have a table that I use to determine which card has been pulled, and give advice often during adventuring based on what the card says. I think the other players really enjoy it.
From what I understand, you cannot reference anything that is not on that list in any third-party publication. It's one of the biggest headaches I've had when writing for a 3PP, and one of the main reasons that I put a lot of effort into becoming a Paizo freelancer... there's so much more freedom as far as what you can reference and use.
Now, much of the content in the non-reference-able books is still OGL content, so while you can't reference it, you could probably reprint the rules content of it, if you're comfortable with that. If it's an item, I personally would probably do so. If it were an archetype, I would probably just avoid it, come up with your own version of the archetype that is significantly different, and publish that, then reference it in your future publications.
DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A LAWYER, THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE, CONSULT A LAWYER FOR ANY ACTUAL LEGAL ADVICE PERTAINING TO PAIZO'S LEGAL RIGHTS AS A COMPANY.
Edward Sobel wrote:
Yeah I just downloaded and opened that, so I need to read through a bit and update her. I suppose I assumed we were playing in golarion because I was under the impression that we were starting out in Wrath of the Righteous, but it seems we're going straight Zeitgeist, is that correct?
Zoltán Mészáros wrote:
Yeah, I imagine that if you look through all the cards in S&S, even if you weren't terribly interested in running through all the S&S scenarios, there are some cards in there that you will want to put into your RotRL deck for those characters to make use of.
The Evil Queen wrote:
I actually got to write up the Ammut as my very first Paizo submission, and I'm really eager to see how the final version turned out. :-D
Zoltán Mészáros wrote:
You may think it fits in less well, but you might be surprised when the cards are in front of you... let's just say that those characters who have specific pets are more likely to see them represented in Skull & Shackles. :-D
I Didnt know that rule wrote:
I think you're confused about what a "Combat Maneuver" is. In Pathfinder, it's a very specific set of actions that you can use, which includes Grapple, Trip, Reposition, Bull Rush, Dirty Trick, Disarm, Drag, Overrun, Steal, and Sunder. These are Combat Maneuvers. You can't just make up a new one (in your case, trying to move more than 5' for free).
As far as the 5' step part goes, one important key point about 5' steps... you cannot take a movement action during the same turn that you took a 5' step. In other words, taking a 5' step means you can't move again that turn. You can do other actions that require a Move action (such as standing up from prone, or pulling out a scroll) but you can't actually MOVE again once you've used your 5' step, unless you have some special power that allows it.
I hope that answers your questions.
@Jorsalheim: I feel you on being excited to play with some of the new characters. I'll probably start my S&S at home play with the Swashbuckler, Alchemist, Witch, and Warpriest. Then once I run them through one time, I might switch out the Swashbuckler for Ranzak and try a few of my class deck characters in place of some of those others. Either way, I'm sure I'm going to be playing a LOT of scenarios between my own play at home and my organizing the OP scenarios at my local game store.
Well, technically the card game's new organized play program IS part of the overall Pathfinder Society, insofar as it will be run by venture officers and there will be small awards for PFS characters earned by playing the card game organized play.
Paizo's staff is very busy at the moment getting ready for Gencon, so it's not super easy to get answers at the moment, but I've been told that if you want to run the card game's organized play, contact your local venture officer, or if you don't have one, email Mike Brock, and say that you are interested in doing so. Make sure that you have a location set up for it (they're starting the program at local game stores first, and then releasing the OP scenarios for purchase as small bundles of PDFs later).
Oh man, you're totally right! You're sharing your own increased bonus!
Ignore everything I wrote! ACK!
I mean, it's an untyped INCREASE to a bonus type, so yes, those would actually stack and increase the morale bonuses by even more. Here's how I interpret the situation:
Bard casts Heroism, +2 morale bonus on attack rolls, saves, and skill checks for himself and the two Sorcerers.
Sorcerer A starts with a +3 morale bonus on attack rolls, saves, and skill checks for himself thanks to his Heroic Echo ability. So does Sorcerer B.
Sorcerer A, as an immediate action, decides to share his Heroic Echo with his teammates, including the bard and Sorcerer B. Now the Bard is getting a +3 morale bonus on attack rolls, saves, and skill checks, and Sorcerer B is getting a +4 to all these things.
Sorcerer B, as an immediate action, decides to share HIS Heroic Echo with his teammates, including the bard and Sorcerer A. Now the Bard is getting a +4 to, Sorcerer A is getting a +4, and Sorcerer B still has his +4. You end up with a net +2 increase to the morale bonuses of the entire party. If you had a third Sorcerer, you'd have a net +3 increase, and so on.
Justin Riddler wrote:
I like the idea of a benefit when adventuring with someone of that race. There's a lot you could do with this.
I can tell you that this is exactly how ships were explained to me by Tanis at Origins, so I think you're spot-on with how ships will work. (The ships mechanic hasn't changed much from the playtest, either).
I'm working on a writeup of a human hunter (from the ACG), which I will submit for your approval later tonight after my wife and I get back from our Beach vacation :)
How many levels of hellknight will we be required to take? As long as it's four or less then Boon Companion can keep my companion at full effective level. Edit: NM I found the two level requirement. Perfect!
I'm not really following your logic... why do you need to be holding a charge to make the most of this as a Magus? The next character to hit that enemy gets an auto-crit... as long as your allies don't attack the same ally before your magus does, you're fine. You'd just have to have your characters, in-game, explain their tactics to the other players. "If I yell 'Joren, he's distracted', then don't hit him until Joren does." Then the other players just delay their actions until after the magus. Seems simple enough to me.