Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Class Decks & Iconic Heroes FAQ

Last updated: February 15, 2017.

Alchemist Class Deck

Mother Myrtle's Preservationist role has a power that lets her display certain allies and draw displayed allies. Can she only draw allies that were displayed using that power, or can she draw an ally that was displayed for another reason?

She can only draw an ally that was displayed using that power.

Resolution: On the Preservationist side of Mother Myrtle's role card, change "you may recharge a card to draw a displayed ally (□ or to give the ally to another character at your location)" to "you may recharge a card to draw one of those allies (□ or to give one of them to another character at your location)".

posted | back to top


Mother Myrtle's Reanimator role says she's proficient with weapons, even though it's not a feat and she didn't have it on her character card. Is that a mistake?

Yes.

Resolution: On the Reanimator side of Mother Myrtle's role card, delete "Weapons" from her proficiencies.

posted | back to top


The last feat on Mother Myrtle Reanimator lets you draw a card of a specific type from your deck. Do you get to choose from all of the cards of that type, or just take the first one you find?

You get to choose.

Resolution: On the Reanimator side of Mother Myrtle's role card, change the last power to:

When a character at your location defeats a monster, you may draw an ally (□ or a spell or an item) from your discard pile (□ or search your deck for a card of that type and draw it).

posted | back to top


Major Cure tells me how I can recharge it instead of discarding it, but it doesn't actually tell me to discard it. Should it?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the spell Major Cure, the first power should end with "...into your deck, then discard this card."

posted | back to top


If I use Embalming Fluid's second power, when do I attempt the Craft or Disable 7 check?

After the combat check. (To do anything else would surely cause a hole in the fabric of reality. Let's do our best to keep the fabric of reality hole-free.)

Resolution: On the item Embalming Fluid, change "Succeed at a Craft or Disable 7 check or bury the top card of your deck" to "After the check, succeed at a Craft or Disable 7 check or bury the top card of your deck".

posted | back to top


Shouldn't Stained Glass Elemental have the Outsider trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the ally Stained Glass Elemental, add the Outsider trait.

posted | back to top


Stained Glass Elemental tells me to discard it when I "defeat a bane by 3 or more on the check." What if I succeed at the check by 3 or more, but I don't defeat the bane at that time? (Let's say this was just the first of two checks to defeat, or it's a Ghost and I'm not using Magic.)

We care about you exceeding the difficulty of the check, whether or not you defeat the bane.

Resolution: On the ally Stained Glass Elemental, change "If you defeat a bane by 3 or more on the check, discard this card and the top card of the blessings deck" to "If the check is against a bane, and your result exceeds the difficulty by 3 or more, discard this card and the top card of the blessings deck".

posted | back to top


What "adventure deck number" does the second power of the Stained Glass Elemental use?

The scenario's adventure deck number.

Resolution: On the ally Stained Glass Elemental, replace "plus the adventure deck number" with "plus the scenario's adventure deck number."

posted | back to top


Barbarian Class Deck

The ally Smith has the Blacksmith trait, which doesn't do anything, but in Wrath of the Righteous, the ally Redeemer Smith has the Hireling trait, which some cards actually care about. Should Smith have the Hireling trait instead?

Yes.

Resolution: On the ally Smith, replace the Blacksmith trait with the Hireling trait.

posted | back to top


Bard Class Deck

After Meliski has gained the feat that allows a character at his location to reroll 2 dice after failing a check, can that character reroll just 1 die if they like?

Yes.

Resolution: On the character Meliski, and both sides of his role card, change "allow her to reroll 1 die (□ 2 dice)" to "allow her to reroll 1 die (□ or 2 dice)."

posted | back to top


If Brawler Meliski has taken the feats that allow him to play 2 blessings on a combat check and recharge them, if he only plays 1 blessing, can he still recharge it?

Yes.

Resolution: On the Brawler side of Meliski's role card, change "You may play 2 blessings on your combat check" to "You may play up to 2 blessings on your combat check".

posted | back to top


When Gambler Meliski takes the feat that gives him the option to bury a card from his discard pile, it appears to take away his option to bury a card from his hand. Is it supposed to?

No—after taking that feat, he should be able to bury a card from either source.

Resolution: On the Gambler side of Meliski's role card, change "you may bury a card (□ from your discard pile) to succeed" to "you may bury a card from your hand (□ or discard pile) to succeed".

posted | back to top


If a character at Siwar the Courtier's location fails to acquire an ally, can Siwar put it in her discard pile?

No. That's only when the ally is buried or banished for its power.

Resolution: On the Courtier side of Siwar's role card, change "When another character at your location would banish or bury an ally, he may put it in your discard pile instead" to When another character at your location would banish or bury an ally for its power, he may put it in your discard pile instead".

posted | back to top


When Siwar the Courtier recharges allies to add to her check to defeat a bane with multiple checks to defeat, does she get to add 1d6 per ally to all of those checks?

Yes.

Resolution: On the Courtier side of Siwar's role card, change "add 1d6 to your check to defeat the bane" to "add 1d6 to your checks to defeat the bane".

posted | back to top


Siwar the Manipulator has a power that lets her use her Diplomacy skill for certain checks. The wording is a bit awkward, isn't it?

A bit.

Resolution: On the Manipulator side of Siwar's role card, replace the second power with the following: "When you attempt a check to defeat a barrier that has the Skirmish or the Task trait, you may use your Diplomacy skill in place of the listed skill. (▢ Characters gain this power while at your location.)"

posted | back to top


Should the Flaming Scimitar +1 have the Magic trait?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the weapon Flaming Scimitar +1, add the Magic trait.

posted | back to top


Except for Keen Rapier +3, rapiers and other keen weapons all have penalties when used by characters who aren’t proficient with weapons. Should Keen Rapier +3 have that penalty?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Keen Rapier +3, add the sentence “If you aren’t proficient with weapons, the difficulty of this check is increased by 4.”

posted | back to top


If I play Glibness from the Bard deck, but I don't have the Arcane or Divine skill, do I have to banish it?

Yes, yes, you do.

Resolution: The spell Glibness needs the italicized text in the following quoted section: "At the end of the turn, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card; otherwise, you may attempt an Arcane or Divine 8 check. If you succeed, recharge this card; if you fail, discard it.

posted | back to top


Major Cure tells me how I can recharge it instead of discarding it, but it doesn't actually tell me to discard it. Should it?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the spell Major Cure, the first power should end with "...into your deck, then discard this card."

posted | back to top


It appears that I can't play Rage during a check because it doesn't directly affect the check. That is, it requires the person to do something—bury a card—to affect the check.

We want you to be able to play it during a check.

Resolution: On the spell Rage, change "Display this card and choose a character at your location" to "Display this card next to the deck of a character at your location; you may play this card during her check".

posted | back to top


Should Paralyze have the Attack trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Paralyze, add the Attack trait.

posted | back to top


Can I play a card like Swipe or Princeling to acquire the Ivory Dice?

No, because Ivory Dice has no check to acquire.

Resolution: On the item Ivory Dice, change the check to acquire from "See Below" to "None."

posted | back to top


Can I use the Fortune-Teller twice in the same turn?

Nope.

Resolution: On the ally Fortune-Teller, change "Reveal this card on your turn..." to "At the end of your move step, reveal this card..."

posted | back to top


If I evade the Burglar, do I have to discard a weapon or item? What if I choose not to acquire it?

If you evade the Burglar, you don't have to discard, because the Skull & Shackles rulebook clarified that if you evade a card, you do not activate any other powers on it. If you choose not to acquire the Burglar, you do have to discard.

Resolution: On the ally Burglar, change "If you fail the check to acquire this card" to "If you fail to acquire this card". (The Skull & Shackles rulebook introduced the rule "If you choose not to acquire a boon, it counts as failing to acquire it.")

posted | back to top


The Spiny Shield and Shield of Fire Resistance have the Magic trait. Shouldn’t they let you recharge them when you reset your hand?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armors Shield of Fire Resistance and Spiny Shield, add the following text: “If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.”

posted | back to top


Cleric Class Deck

Does Kyra have to add the Magic trait (▢ and/or Fire trait) to her check when using a sword?

No.

Resolution: On Kyra's character card and both sides of her role card, change "If your combat check has the Sword trait, add 2 (▢ 4) and the Magic (▢ and Fire) trait to it" to "If your combat check has the Sword trait, add 2 (▢ 4) and you may add the Magic trait (▢ and/or Fire trait)".

posted | back to top


Should the Flaming Scimitar +1 have the Magic trait?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the weapon Flaming Scimitar +1, add the Magic trait.

posted | back to top


Major Cure tells me how I can recharge it instead of discarding it, but it doesn't actually tell me to discard it. Should it?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the spell Major Cure, the first power should end with "...into your deck, then discard this card."

posted | back to top


Can I really attempt a straight Wisdom check to play Vengeful Storm?

No.

Resolution: On the spell Vengeful Storm, delete the words "Wisdom or".

posted | back to top


Can I play another armor if I play Deathbane Shield to add the Magic trait to my check?

Yes, if you're proficient with light armors.

Resolution: Change the second and third powers on the armor Deathbane Shield to "Reveal this card to add the Magic trait to your combat check, or to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. If you are proficient with light armors, you may play another armor on this check."

(Note that this FAQ entry also applies to Deathbane Shield.)

posted | back to top


The Deathbane Shield has the Magic trait. Shouldn’t it let you recharge it when you reset your hand?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armor Deathbane Shield, add the following text: “If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.”

posted | back to top


The ally Smith has the Blacksmith trait, which doesn't do anything, but in Wrath of the Righteous, the ally Redeemer Smith has the Hireling trait, which some cards actually care about. Should Smith have the Hireling trait instead?

Yes.

Resolution: On the ally Smith, replace the Blacksmith trait with the Hireling trait.

posted | back to top


Fighter Class Deck

Can the Adamantine Trident +3 ignore difficulty-increasing powers for any monster encountered by anyone? And do I ignore the whole power, or just the part that increases the difficulty?

This power is intended to be part of the power above it, affecting only the monsters you are currently attempting a combat check against. And you may only ignore the part of the power that increases the difficulty.

Resolution: On the weapon Adamantine Trident +3, change "If a monster has a power that increases the difficulty of any combat check, ignore that power" to "If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of this check, ignore that effect", and move that sentence to the end of the first power.

posted | back to top


Can I try to recharge Call Weapon after burying it?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Call Weapon, change "instead of discarding it" to "instead of discarding or burying it".

posted | back to top


If I don't have the Arcane or Divine skill, can I really just discard the spell Masterwork when I play it? I'm used to banishing spells like that.

You need to banish it.

Resolution: On the spell Masterwork, add the italicized portion to the following text: "At the start of your turn, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card; otherwise, attempt an Arcane or Divine 12 check. If you succeed, recharge this card; if you fail, discard it."

posted | back to top


Should Paralyze have the Attack trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Paralyze, add the Attack trait.

posted | back to top


The Spiny Shield and Winged Shield have the Magic trait. Shouldn’t they let you recharge them when you reset your hand?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armors Spiny Shield and Winged Shield, add the following text: “If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.”

posted | back to top


Goblins Burn! Deck

Safety Bubble's check to acquire says "Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Arcane". Shouldn't that last Arcane be Divine?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Safety Bubble, change the check to acquire to "Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Divine 11".

posted | back to top


Dogfinder tells you to shuffle cards into your hand. Is it meant to be shuffled into your deck, or drawn into your hand?

Drawn into your hand. And the cards should be random.

Resolution: On the item Dogfinder, change "shuffle 1d4+1 cards from your discard pile into your hand" to "draw 1d4+1 random cards from your discard pile."

posted | back to top


Shouldn't the Imp be displayed to prevent infinite cycling?

Yes. It should also be disallowed during encounters.

Resolution: On the ally Imp, change the first two powers to:

You may not play this card during an encounter.

Display this card to draw 1 or 2 cards. At the end of the turn, if you drew 1 card, recharge this card; if you drew 2 cards, discard this card.

posted | back to top


Goblins Fight! Deck

If you're proficient with weapons, the Garrote in Mummy's Mask lets you add 10 to your result, while the one in Goblins Fight! lets you add 1d10. Which is correct?

The Mummy's Mask version is correct.

Resolution: On the weapon Garrote, change "you may add another 1d10" to "you may add 10 to your result".

posted | back to top


Gunslinger Class Deck

Can displayed Ammunitions be played during an encounter?

Yes. You can't display them during an encounter, but if they're already displayed, you can use them.

Resolution: On the items Adamantine Bullets, Alchemical Cartridges, Blessed Bullet, Dragonbreath Shot, Entangling Shot, Flare Shot, Poisoned Bullets, and Shock Bullets, change "Display this card; you may not play this card during an encounter" to "Display this card; you may not do so during an encounter".

posted | back to top


Poisoned Bullets says "you may bury this card to add 1d12 and the Poison trait. You may succeed at a Craft or Stealth 8 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it." So is it discard or bury?

It's bury.

Resolution: On the item Poisoned Bullets, change "instead of discarding it" to "instead of burying it".

posted | back to top


Monk Class Deck

Adamantine Sai +2 says I can ignore a monster's effects that increase the difficulty of a combat check. Does that include, for example, the difficulty increase from a monster with the Veteran trait, even though that power doesn't specifically say it affects combat checks?

Yes. We want you to ignore any effects from monsters that would make your combat check more difficult.

Resolution: On the weapon Adamantine Sai +2, replace "If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of a combat check, ignore that effect" with "If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of that check, ignore that effect".

posted | back to top


Shouldn't the Imp be displayed to prevent infinite cycling?

Yes. It should also be disallowed during encounters.

Resolution: On the ally Imp, change the first two powers to:

You may not play this card during an encounter.

Display this card to draw 1 or 2 cards. At the end of the turn, if you drew 1 card, recharge this card; if you drew 2 cards, discard this card.

posted | back to top


Oracle Class Deck

Major Cure tells me how I can recharge it instead of discarding it, but it doesn't actually tell me to discard it. Should it?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the spell Major Cure, the first power should end with "...into your deck, then discard this card."

posted | back to top


Can Climber’s Gloves be used every time I shuffle a location deck?

Not quite. It can only be used once per check or step.

Resolution: On the item Climber’s Gloves, add the following sentence to the end of the second power: ”You may not use this power more than once per check or step.”

posted | back to top


Shouldn't the Imp be displayed to prevent infinite cycling?

Yes. It should also be disallowed during encounters.

Resolution: On the ally Imp, change the first two powers to:

You may not play this card during an encounter.

Display this card to draw 1 or 2 cards. At the end of the turn, if you drew 1 card, recharge this card; if you drew 2 cards, discard this card.

posted | back to top


Paladin Class Deck

Mace of Smiting says I can ignore a monster's effects that increase the difficulty of a combat check. Does that include, for example, the difficulty increase from a monster with the Veteran trait, even though that power doesn't specifically say it affects combat checks?

Yes. We want you to ignore any effects from monsters that would make your combat check more difficult.

Resolution: On the weapon Mace of Smiting, replace "If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of a combat check, ignore that effect" with "If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of that check, ignore that effect".

posted | back to top


Can I use Riding Horse or Griffon to move when there's nobody else at my location? If there are other characters at my location, do I have to move 1 of them?

You do not have to move another character when you move.

Resolution: On the ally Riding Horse, change the first power to "At the end of your turn, discard this card to move; you may also move another character at your location to your new location." On the ally Griffon, change the first power to "At the start or end of your turn, discard this card to move; you may also move another character at your location to your new location."

posted | back to top


When does the last part of Blessing of the Inheritor trigger?

When you play it.

Resolution: On the blessing Blessing of the Inheritor, change "If the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Iomedae trait" to "When you play this card, if the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Iomedae trait".

posted | back to top


Ranger Class Deck

Can Agna recharge an item or a weapon that has the Offhand trait to add 1d6 to her combat check?

Yes, she can recharge any card with the Offhand trait for that purpose.

Resolution: On Agna's character card and both sides of her role card, change "that weapon’s traits" to "that card's traits".

posted | back to top


Can Arabundi the Mage Hunter use his last power in a set without any Blessing of the Gods cards?

Yes. Let's open that up to all Basic blessings.

Resolution: On the Mage Hunter side of Arabundi's role card, change "When you play Blessing of the Gods" to "When you play a Basic blessing".

posted | back to top


Should Arabundi's Mage Hunter role have only 11 power feats?

Nope. He should have 12 like everyone else.

Resolution: On the Mage Hunter side of Arabundi's role card, change the last power from "▢ When you play Blessing of the Gods on your non-combat check, you may recharge a random spell from your discard pile" to "▢ When you play a Basic blessing (▢ or any blessing) on your non-combat check, you may recharge a random spell from your discard pile".

Note: This resolution has been updated to incorporate the change from this resolution.

posted | back to top


If Arabundi the Nature Adept has his fifth and sixth powers fully checked, can he make an infinite loop of recharging a spell, putting it on top of his deck, drawing it, and repeating?

Not anymore.

Resolution: On the Nature Adept side of Arabundi's role card, change "When you would recharge a spell, you may shuffle it into your deck (▢ or put it on top of your deck) instead" to "When you would recharge a spell, you may display it instead. Before you reset your hand, shuffle it into your deck (▢ or put it on top of your deck)".

posted | back to top


Can I play the Adamantine Poniard +1 on a check for its 1d4 if I've already played a weapon on the check?

You should be able to do that.

Resolution: Change the powers on the weapon Adamantine Poniard +1 to the following.

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4+1. If a monster has an effect that increases the difficulty of the check, ignore that effect.

On your combat check, you may discard this card to add 1d4. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Can I play Main-Gauche with another weapon or not? The first sentence tells me when I can't, not when I can.

You can, so long as you didn't play another weapon with the 2-Handed trait.

Resolution: On the weapon Main-Gauche, replace the text with the following:

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4.

Discard this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Can I play Main-Gauche +1 with another weapon or not? The first sentence tells me when I can't, not when I can.

You can, so long as you didn't play another weapon with the 2-Handed trait.

Resolution: On the weapon Main-Gauche +1, replace the text with the following:

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4+1.

Recharge this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Most cards that are displayed to add 3 to a skill go away at the end of the turn in which they're played, but Endurance goes away at the end of your turn. Is that right?

Nope. It should be like the others.

Resolution: On the spell Endurance, change "At the end of your turn" to "At the end of the turn".

posted | back to top


The Entropy Shield has the Magic trait. Shouldn’t it let you recharge it when you reset your hand?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armor Entropy Shield, add the following text: “If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.”

posted | back to top


Rogue Class Deck

If Lesath banishes a displayed monster at the end of his turn, does he then have to display it again?

No, because then they would never get banished. That's no good.

Resolution: On Lesath's character card and the Sword Dancer side of his role card, change "When you would banish a monster, display it. You may recharge a card to add 1d6 (▢+1) to your combat check for each displayed monster." to "When you defeat a monster and would banish it, you may display it instead. Before you attempt a combat check, you may recharge a card to add a number of d6 (▢+1) equal to your number of displayed monsters. At the end of your turn, banish your displayed monsters."

On the Dervish side of his role card, change the power to "When you defeat a monster and would banish it, you may display it instead. Before you attempt a combat check, you may recharge a card to add a number of d6 (▢+1) (▢+2) (▢+3) equal to your number of displayed monsters. At the end of your turn, banish your displayed monsters."

posted | back to top


Merisiel the Forger has a power that affects weapons she discards. Is that restricted to weapons that she plays?

It should be restricted to cards you play.

Resolution: On the Forger side of Merisiel's role card, make the changes in italics to the following power: "When you play a weapon and would discard (□ or bury) (□ or banish) it, you may perform the action with a blessing (□ or any card) instead."

posted | back to top


When encountering a monster that has multiple checks to defeat, can Olenjack explore in between those checks?

No.

Resolution: On Olenjack's character card and both sides of his role card, change "On your turn, when you succeed at a combat check that has the Poison trait, you may immediately explore again" to "On your turn, when you succeed at a combat check that has the Poison trait, after defeating the bane you may immediately explore again".

posted | back to top


Do I gain the power to add 2 to my checks to defeat barriers as soon as I select Wu Shen's Prey Stalker role?

No, that power should have a checkbox at the front. But then she'll have too many feats, so we need to remove the last checkbox in that power.

Resolution: On the Prey Stalker side of Wu Shen's role card, change "Add 2 (▢ 4) to your check to defeat a barrier (▢ or close a location)" to "▢ Add 2 (▢ 4) to your check to defeat a barrier or close a location".

posted | back to top


Except for Keen Rapier +3, rapiers and other keen weapons all have penalties when used by characters who aren’t proficient with weapons. Should Keen Rapier +3 have that penalty?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Keen Rapier +3, add the sentence “If you aren’t proficient with weapons, the difficulty of this check is increased by 4.”

posted | back to top


The Light Crossbow +1 in the Rogue Class Deck has the Basic trait instead of the Magic trait. That's wrong, right?

Right—that's wrong.

Resolution: On the weapon Light Crossbow +1, replace the Basic trait with the Magic trait. (This card is correct in the Wizard Class Deck.)

posted | back to top


Can I play Main-Gauche +1 with another weapon or not? The first sentence tells me when I can't, not when I can.

You can, so long as you didn't play another weapon with the 2-Handed trait.

Resolution: On the weapon Main-Gauche +1, replace the text with the following:

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4+1.

Recharge this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Other versions of Speed can be acquired with Wisdom or Divine, but not the one in the Rogue deck. What's the deal?

That's a pretty mysterious error.

Resolution: On the spell Speed, the check to acquire should be Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Divine 6.

posted | back to top


The Arrow Catching Studded Leather has the Magic trait. Shouldn’t it let you recharge it when you reset your hand?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armor Arrow Catching Studded Leather, add the following text: “If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.”

posted | back to top


If I evade the Burglar, do I have to discard a weapon or item? What if I choose not to acquire it?

If you evade the Burglar, you don't have to discard, because the Skull & Shackles rulebook clarified that if you evade a card, you do not activate any other powers on it. If you choose not to acquire the Burglar, you do have to discard.

Resolution: On the ally Burglar, change "If you fail the check to acquire this card" to "If you fail to acquire this card". (The Skull & Shackles rulebook introduced the rule "If you choose not to acquire a boon, it counts as failing to acquire it.")

posted | back to top


Sorcerer Class Deck

Since “before I reset my hand” is not part of a step, can I use Amaryllis’s spell recharge power as many times as I want?

No—just once. We’ll limit it to “at the end of your turn” so it happens during a step.

Resolution: On Amaryllis's character card and both sides of her role card, change "After (▢ and before) you reset your hand" to "At the end of your turn, after (▢ and before) you reset your hand".

posted | back to top


Can Amaryllis use her role powers that depend on Blessing of the Gods in a set without any such blessings?

Yes. Let's open that up to all Basic blessings.

Resolution: On both sides of Amaryllis's role card, change "When you play Blessing of the Gods" to "When you play a Basic blessing".

posted | back to top


If I check the box that lets Seoni the Tattooed Mystic draw 2 cards after being dealt damage, can I still draw only 1?

Yes.

Resolution: On the Tattooed Mystic side of Seoni's role card, change "After you are dealt Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage, you may draw 1 card (▢ 2 cards)" to "After you are dealt Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage, you may draw 1 card (▢ or 2 cards)".

posted | back to top


Can I play Main-Gauche +1 with another weapon or not? The first sentence tells me when I can't, not when I can.

You can, so long as you didn't play another weapon with the 2-Handed trait.

Resolution: On the weapon Main-Gauche +1, replace the text with the following:

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d4+1.

Recharge this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. You may play this card on a check even if you played a weapon that does not have the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Why would I discard the Sling instead of revealing it?

"Instead" should be "additionally". Throwing it is better than swinging it.

Resolution: On the weapon Sling, change "instead" to "additionally".

posted | back to top


Should Confusion have the Attack trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Confusion, add the Attack trait.

posted | back to top


Should Robe of Energy Resistance and Robe of Vision have Armor traits?

They should both have the Light Armor trait.

Resolution: On the armors Robe of Energy Resistance and Robe of Vision, add the Light Armor trait.

posted | back to top


Can I play a card like Swipe or Princeling to acquire the Ivory Dice?

No, because Ivory Dice has no check to acquire.

Resolution: On the item Ivory Dice, change the check to acquire from "See Below" to "None."

posted | back to top


Should you really be able to acquire the Incanter with the Divine trait?

No.

Resolution: On the ally Incanter, remove Divine from the check to acquire.

posted | back to top


Summoner Class Deck

In Rise of the Runelords, the spell Haste can be recharged, but not the one in the Summoner deck. What's the deal?

That's a mistake.

Resolution: On the spell Haste, the last paragraph should say "After playing this card, if you do not have the Arcane skill, banish it; otherwise, you may succeed at an Arcane 10 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it."

posted | back to top


Shouldn't you have to discard the Evocation Staff to get the power bump?

Yes.

Resolution: On the item Evocation Staff, change "You may additionally add 2d10 and the Cold, Electricity, Fire, or Force trait" to "You may additionally discard this card to add another 2d10 and the Cold, Electricity, Fire, or Force trait".

posted | back to top


Warpriest Class Deck

Oloch's first power says it can be used "when another character at your location would fail to defeat a monster," which is after damage has been dealt. Is that really what was intended?

No. This power should help that character avoid that damage.

Resolution: On Oloch's character card, in the first power, change "When another character at your location would fail to defeat a monster" to "When another character at your location fails a check to defeat a monster".

posted | back to top


Should Golembane Hammer +2 roll your Strength or Melee die or use your Strength or Melee skill?

The latter.

Resolution: On the weapon Golembane Hammer +2, change "roll your Strength or Melee die" to "use your Strength or Melee skill".

posted | back to top


Witch Class Deck

Feiya has a power that lets her shuffle monsters she fails to defeat. Her Beast-Bonder role has a feat that extends the power to allies that she fails to acquire, but only says what to do with the monster. What does she do with the ally?

Same thing as she does with the monster.

Resolution: On the Beast-Bonder side of Feiya's role card, change "shuffle the monster" to "shuffle the card".

posted | back to top


Shouldn't the spell Verdure's Wrath have the Magic trait?

Yep.

Resolution: On the spell Verdure's Wrath, add the Magic trait.

posted | back to top


In other products, the spell Web can be recharged, but not the one in the Witch deck. What's the deal?

That's a mistake.

Resolution: On the spell Web, the last paragraph should say "After playing this card, if you do not have the Arcane skill, banish it; otherwise, you may succeed at an Arcane 8 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it."

posted | back to top


Shouldn't you have to discard the Evocation Staff to get the power bump?

Yes.

Resolution: On the item Evocation Staff, change "You may additionally add 2d10 and the Cold, Electricity, Fire, or Force trait" to "You may additionally discard this card to add another 2d10 and the Cold, Electricity, Fire, or Force trait".

posted | back to top


Shouldn't the Imp be displayed to prevent infinite cycling?

Yes. It should also be disallowed during encounters.

Resolution: On the ally Imp, change the first two powers to:

You may not play this card during an encounter.

Display this card to draw 1 or 2 cards. At the end of the turn, if you drew 1 card, recharge this card; if you drew 2 cards, discard this card.

posted | back to top


Wizard Class Deck

It seems like it might be possible to abuse Radillo's power to examine her deck after playing an Arcane spell, such as creating an endless loop of Detect Magics.

That doesn't sound fun.

Resolution: On Radillo's character card and both sides of her role card, change "After you play a spell that has the Arcane trait" to "When you play a spell that has the Arcane trait during an encounter".

posted | back to top


When you resolve an encounter with a summoned card, it's always supposed to go back in the box. But Radillo's Arcane Collector role has a power that seems like it's supposed to let you keep a summoned card in your hand. Does it?

You can keep the card if you succeed at the check to acquire it.

Resolution: On the Arcane Collector side of Radillo's role card, replace "When you encounter a boon, you may bury a card to banish it and instead summon and encounter a random boon of the same type ... from the box" with "When you encounter a boon, you may bury a card to exchange it with a random boon of the same type ... from the box".

posted | back to top


If I run into a monster with two checks to defeat, and Radillo the Puppet Master is at my location, does her power allow me to reduce the difficulty of both checks by recharging a single ally?

No. Recharging one ally reduces the difficulty of one check.

Resolution: On the Puppet Master side of Radillo's role card, change "When any character at your location encounters a monster, you may recharge an ally to reduce the difficulty of the check to defeat the monster" to "When any character at your location attempts a check to defeat a monster, you may recharge an ally to reduce the difficulty of that check".

posted | back to top


The Snake card in the Wizard Class Deck says it adds to "your non-combat Stealth check," but the Snake in the Rise of the Runelords Character Add-On Deck says it adds to "your Stealth check." Which is correct?

The Rise of the Runelords version is correct.

Resolution: On the ally Snake, remove the word "non-combat."

posted | back to top


Why would I discard the Sling instead of revealing it?

"Instead" should be "additionally". Throwing it is better than swinging it.

Resolution: On the weapon Sling, change "instead" to "additionally".

posted | back to top


If I don't have the Arcane or Divine skill, can I really just discard the spell Masterwork when I play it? I'm used to banishing spells like that.

You need to banish it.

Resolution: On the spell Masterwork, add the italicized portion to the following text: "At the start of your turn, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card; otherwise, attempt an Arcane or Divine 12 check. If you succeed, recharge this card; if you fail, discard it."

posted | back to top


Should Paralyze have the Attack trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Paralyze, add the Attack trait.

posted | back to top


If I make a combat check using Sphere of Fire, can I play another spell? If I don't have the Arcane or Divine skill, can I discard Sphere of Fire for its additional damage and thus avoid having to banish the card?

No and no. Using the power of Sphere of Fire counts as a spell. And if you discard the spell, it triggers the last part of the power.

Resolution: On the spell Sphere of Fire, replace "At the end of your turn, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill..." with "This counts as playing a spell. At the end of your turn, or when you would discard this card when playing it, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill..."

posted | back to top


Should Robe of Vision have an Armor trait?

It should have the Light Armor trait.

Resolution: On the armor Robe of Vision, add the Light Armor trait.

posted | back to top


Should you really be able to acquire the Incanter with the Divine trait?

No.

Resolution: On the ally Incanter, remove Divine from the check to acquire.

posted | back to top


Iconic Heroes

If the card that Biter lets you examine is a monster with multiple checks to defeat, do you get to add 1d6 to all of those checks?

Yes.

Resolution: On the ally Biter, change "add 1d6 to your check to defeat it" to "add 1d6 to your checks to defeat it".

posted | back to top


Should Nirmathas Longbow have the 2-Handed trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Nirmathas Longbow, add the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top



©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.