How do Combat Patrol and Stand Still work together?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Combat Patrol wrote:
As a full-round action, you may set up a combat patrol, increasing your threatened area by 5 feet for every 5 points of your base attack bonus. Until the beginning of your next turn, you may make attacks of opportunity against any opponent in this threatened area that provokes attacks of opportunity. You may move as part of these attacks, provided your total movement before your next turn does not exceed your speed. Any movement you make provokes attacks of opportunity as normal.

Source

Stand Still wrote:
When a foe provokes an attack of opportunity due to moving through your adjacent squares, you can make a combat maneuver check as your attack of opportunity. If successful, the enemy cannot move for the rest of his turn. An enemy can still take the rest of his action, but cannot move. This feat also applies to any creature that attempts to move from a square that is adjacent to you if such movement provokes an attack of opportunity.

Source

Stand Still only triggers if a foe provokes due to moving through adjacent squares, not squares within reach, but Combat Patrol allows you to move in order to take an AoO. Does this mean that with Combat Patrol you can use Stand Still against any enemy within your threatened area as long as you move adjacent to them (not just within weapon reach) before making your combat maneuver check?


I'd love to know too, though it sure seems like it should work that way to me.


Yes.

By RAW Stand still requires you to be adjacent, and combat patrol lets you count a higher area to threaten, and gives you the option of moving within it for the attacks of opportunity, so provided you spent the movement within the limits, you could use stand still and combat patrol. This would count in the same manner as a reach weapon, which was discussed with stand still and the intent was to be used in threatened area not just adjacent squares.

Shadow Lodge

Where is this discussion? Are there any other abilities that state "adjacent" but mean "within threatened range"?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How do Combat Patrol and Stand Still work together? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions