Stunning Fist AoO?


Rules Questions


Just wanting to verify whether you can or cannot use Stunning Fist during an AoO


I cannot find a reason to even question this, of course stunning fist can be used on an AoO, provided the once per round and daily usage limits are followed, and it is declared prior to the attack roll.

Sovereign Court

Sure, it says to declare it as part of an attack and not an action type you cannot perform when it is not your turn.
Earth Child Binder is a feat that specifically calls out using Stunning Fist on an AoO, but it does let you declare using it after you hit.


+1

I just reviewed the Feat, and I don't see a reason why you can't use Stunning Fist as part of an Attack of Opportunity. You have to declare it before you make you Attack Roll.

I think you are clear to Stun at every opportunity.


we see here:

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/Combat/#TOC-Attacks-of-Opportunity

it actually distinctly calls out attacks and attacks of opportunity as different.

(Some of these special attacks can be made as part of another action (such as an attack) or as a attack of opportunity.)

however, stunning fist isnt called out as an action:
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/stunning-fist-combat/

((Benefit: You must declare that you are using this feat before you make your attack roll))

you use it as part of an attack roll, any attack roll.

Kinda what firebug said but clarified and detailed.


No, you cannot. In general you cannot use free actions when it is not your turn; that is reserved for immediate actions. Some, like speaking, are explicitly called out as being able to be used when it is not your turn, but those are exceptions.


Shinoskay wrote:

it actually distinctly calls out attacks and attacks of opportunity as different.

(Some of these special attacks can be made as part of another action (such as an attack) or as a attack of opportunity.)

The word attack that I've bolded refers to the attack action. Attacks made as AoO and attacks made as part of an action are all just different subcategories of "attack". Which for the combat rules means making an attack roll to hit a target with a manufactured weapon, unarmed strike, or natural weapon.

thorin001 wrote:
No, you cannot. In general you cannot use free actions when it is not your turn; that is reserved for immediate actions. Some, like speaking, are explicitly called out as being able to be used when it is not your turn, but those are exceptions.

And exactly where does the feat say it's a free action to use it?


I assumed Stunning Fist functions as an Ex ability for the most part, even though it doesn’t say it’s one. If it is that would make it a non-action, not a free action. And yes there’s a difference


Derklord wrote:
Shinoskay wrote:

it actually distinctly calls out attacks and attacks of opportunity as different.

(Some of these special attacks can be made as part of another action (such as an attack) or as a attack of opportunity.)

The word attack that I've bolded refers to the attack action. Attacks made as AoO and attacks made as part of an action are all just different subcategories of "attack". Which for the combat rules means making an attack roll to hit a target with a manufactured weapon, unarmed strike, or natural weapon.

thorin001 wrote:
No, you cannot. In general you cannot use free actions when it is not your turn; that is reserved for immediate actions. Some, like speaking, are explicitly called out as being able to be used when it is not your turn, but those are exceptions.
And exactly where does the feat say it's a free action to use it?

Good catch. I know I saw it somewhere, probably d20pfsrd, but when I checked the CRB again there is not mention of an action.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:

+1

I just reviewed the Feat, and I don't see a reason why you can't use Stunning Fist as part of an Attack of Opportunity. You have to declare it before you make you Attack Roll.

I think you are clear to Stun at every opportunity.

Well. Not every opportunity. Once. But that'll do.


RAWmonger wrote:
I assumed Stunning Fist functions as an Ex ability for the most part, even though it doesn’t say it’s one. If it is that would make it a non-action, not a free action. And yes there’s a difference

Stealth doesnt say what kind of action it is, instead it is often called out as being part of other actions.

stunning fist calls itself out as useable as part of an attack roll, this does not make it a free action... or restrict in any way the free action is.

the only restriction for stunning fist, aside from per round and per day use restrictions, as it says, is it must be declared part of an attack roll.

thusly, it is only usable during an attack roll.

Also, I disagree with derklord but that would be an off topic discussion.


Shinoskay wrote:
RAWmonger wrote:
I assumed Stunning Fist functions as an Ex ability for the most part, even though it doesn’t say it’s one. If it is that would make it a non-action, not a free action. And yes there’s a difference

Stealth doesnt say what kind of action it is, instead it is often called out as being part of other actions.

stunning fist calls itself out as useable as part of an attack roll, this does not make it a free action... or restrict in any way the free action is.

the only restriction for stunning fist, aside from per round and per day use restrictions, as it says, is it must be declared part of an attack roll.

thusly, it is only usable during an attack roll.

Also, I disagree with derklord but that would be an off topic discussion.

I'm not even sure if your agreeing or disagreeing that it can be used with an AoO at all after reading this.


I'm saying what kind of action it is. its neither a non action nor a free action (as has been said, it matters). Its PART of another action. Just as stealth is a thing done with other actions.

Im using stealth as the most clear comparison.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stunning Fist AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions