Polymorph question


Rules Discussion


If someone is under the effect of Enlarge or another polymorph spell can he benefit from Heroism?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Atalius wrote:
If someone is under the effect of Enlarge or another polymorph spell can he benefit from Heroism?

on page 301 under polymorph it says that you can only benefit from circumstance bonuses, status bonuses and penalties. heroism is a status bonus so it would buff your stats.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Basically, you don't get item bonuses.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So I think they should be ok since they effect different things

Enlarge is a status bonus to damage

Quote:


it gains a +2 status bonus to melee damage

and Heroism is attack, perception, saving throws and skill checks

Quote:


granting it a +1 status bonus to attack rolls, Perception checks, saving throws, and skill checks.

So you can only have one status bonus per roll is my understanding

Quote:


But if you have multiple bonuses of the same type, you can use only the highest bonus on a given roll—in other words, they don’t “stack.”

My thoughts at least :)


Would I be able to cast True Strike while Enlarged?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Of course you can cast True Strike while enlarged. Enlarge isn't a Battle Form. Similarly, the rule about what bonuses can affect a characer who has taken on a Battle Form through a polymorph spell has nothing to do with Enlarge.

Quote:


Polymorph
These effects transform the target into a new form. A target can’t be under the effect of more than one polymorph effect at a time. If it comes under the effect of a second polymorph effect, the second polymorph effect attempts to counteract the first. If it succeeds, it takes effect, and if it fails, the spell has no effect on that target. Any Strikes specifically granted by a polymorph effect are magical. Unless otherwise stated, polymorph spells don’t allow the target to take on the appearance of a specific individual creature, but rather just a generic creature of a general type or ancestry.

If you take on a battle form with a polymorph spell, the special statistics can be adjusted only by circumstance bonuses, status bonuses, and penalties. Unless otherwise noted, the battle form prevents you from casting spells, speaking, and using most manipulate actions that require hands. (If there’s doubt about whether you can use an action, the GM decides.) Your gear is absorbed into you; the constant abilities of your gear still function, but you can’t activate any items.

The rules beneath the bold section are for Battle Form polymorph spells, not all polymorph spells.


Your the man! Quite often you are the bearer of bad news, however this time you brought a smile to my face.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Polymorph question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.