Simoun: lightning thief questions


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hello, fellow Pathfinder ACG players! I have a couple of question regarding the abilities below:

Simoun: lightning thief wrote:
When you move, you may examine the top card of your location deck. If it is a monster, you may encounter it; add 1d6 and the Electricity trait to your checks to defeat.
Blessing of Horus wrote:
Discard this card to move, then you may explore your location. You may not use this power during the encounter.

1) If Simouns has the above power and plays Blessing of Horus, can she use her power to examine the top card of her deck after she moves (possibly encountering a monster) and then continue with her blessing's power to explore her location?

2) If Simoun uses her power when she moves and reveals a monster with lightning immunity, what exactly happens? Can she encounter this monster and not add the 1d6, or she cannot choose to encounter that monster since her ability automatically adds Electricity trait to her checks to defeat?

Thanks in advance!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. Yes. You play the blessing to move, then examine the top card of the new location deck, then optionally encounter that card, then optionally explore.

2. You ignore the impossible instruction, so you encounter the card but do not add 1d6 or the Electricity trait to your checks to defeat it. I read "you may encounter it" and "add 1d6 and the Electricity trait to your checks to defeat" as two separate instructions due to the use of the semicolon separating them.


1. skizzerz is right (as usual). The trick is that
A) The restriction

Rulebook page 7 wrote:
However, during a single exploration, no matter how many different effects allow you to explore again, treat them as granting one additional exploration, not a series of additional explorations.

doesn't apply because Simoun's power allows her to encounter, not explore.

B) The "then" in the Blessing of Horus trumps the "finish one thing before doing another" rule. Thus you must fully process the "When" in Simoun's power triggered by the move before going back to the "then" in the blessing. Had the Blessing be written "to move and explore your new location", there could have been a debate on whether the exploration happens before the "When".

2. skizzerz is right (as usual). The only thing the immunity forbids is to add the d6.


Thank you guys for very useful replies! (as usual :))

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Simoun: lightning thief questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion