I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
| 6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Does the Necroccultist only get one Implement at 1st-level, or two that simply both have to be Necromantic?
| Secret Wizard |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Seems really clear to me.
LV1. Necromancy
LV2. Extra Implement
LV6. Extra Implement
LV10. Extra Implement
LV14. +2 DC to Necromancy spells/focus powers
LV18. Extra Implement
LV20. Necromancy Implement Mastery
RE:
At 1st level, a necroccultist gains access to only the necromancy school of implements.
At 14th level, he doesn't gain an additional school of implements.
Seems extra clear.
I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
That doesn't clear anything up. 1st-level Occultists start with 2 Implements. An Occultist can select an Implement from the same school more than once. What stops a 1st-level Necroccultist from having 2 Necromantic Implements? A school is a type of magic (an abstract thing). An Implement is a type of magic item (a concrete thing). They're not the same.
| Gisher |
That's not true. Implements =/= Schools, Implements are of schools - it would be like having two weapons that both have the flaming property.
Um... != and =/= both mean "not equal to." Efreeti is agreeing with you that restricting the Necroccultist to one school doesn't necessarily mean restricting them to one Implement at first level.
I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
Um... != and =/= both mean "not equal to."
Pardon me, Efreeti, I did not know that!
Then again, he does get a bonus spell each level, so if he began with two, that'd be 50% more spells available than a regular occultist.
As a counter to this, the Necroccultist does give up a great deal for their specialty, such as a much narrower menu of Focus Powers.
| ericthecleric |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
This is what it reads like to me:
LV1. Two implements, which must both be necromancy
LV2. Extra Implement
LV6. Extra Implement
LV10. Extra Implement
LV14. +2 DC to Necromancy spells/focus powers
LV18. Extra Implement
LV20. Necromancy Implement Mastery
Plus, from 2nd level onwards, they gain one additional necromancy spell per level.
| Quentin Coldwater |
Plus, from 2nd level onwards, they gain one additional necromancy spell per level.
I was arguing this with a friend. why doesn't he gain one at first level? Friend says it's because he doesn't have that ability when he "gains" his first level (like this: ability checks at levelup whether you qualify. You gain your first level, so technically you qualify, but you only gain your abilities after you've gained your level). I see the logic in that, I just want to know if it's right.
| j b 200 |
There is nothing in the archetype that says you don't get additional implements. A Necroccultist has the same number of Implements as a vanilla occultist, except for the one at level 14. The only change is that the implements must all be Necromancy.
Here's the cogent part of the Occultist class.
The occultist needs only one such item to cast spells of the corresponding school, unless he selected that implement school multiple times, in which case he needs one item for each set of spells gained from that school.
Since the Necroccultist only uses necromancy he needs one implement per set of spells. So a 6th level Occultist has 4 necromancy implements, allowing him access to 4 necromancy spells per spell level, one for each implement, plus 6 spells from the Wizard Necromancy list that are not tethered to a specific implement.
I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
There is nothing in the archetype that says you don't get additional implements. A Necroccultist has the same number of Implements as a vanilla occultist, except for the one at level 14. The only change is that the implements must all be Necromancy.
Wait, what? Are you also arguing that even AFTER 1st-level, Necroccultists can NEVER pick up Implements of any other school? I was kind of thinking that restriction only applied to their 1st-level Implements.
Come to think of it, the caveat that they must select Necromancy for their Implement Mastery implies that they CAN take Implements of other schools later, otherwise there'd be no point in spelling out that requirement if they didn't even have a choice.
There's also the matter of the Occultist's Necromantic spell list not quite being broad enough to comfortably accommodate 6 Necromantic Implements.
Bear in mind, I'm pursuing this line of inquiry because I'm interested in perhaps making my Occultist into one.
| j b 200 |
You can read it both ways. When I read:
"At 1st level, a necroccultist gains access to only the necromancy school of implements. "
It seems to me that he only gets necromancy. But I guess it isn't explicit. The only spell level that doesn't have 6+ spells is actually 1st. I assume that's why you get access to the Wizard Necromancy Spells.