| Zwordsman |
They should stack just fine.
I don't believe they fall under the same effect or same source issues.
It's not really a condition. its just occuring damage. It's not like poisons, the same poison on two different blades. its more like two swords with the same properties hitting someone. There isn't any reason that one prevents the other.
one person could cast them every round and it would build up just fine.
Honestly it's pretty damn amusing on a wand.
| My Self |
If you get stabbed in one place, you bleed. If you get stabbed in two places, you bleed more, because now you have twice as many holes in you. As long as the duration overlaps, the acid arrows should stack, unless you pull some sort of magical feat of archery and land the second arrow in the exact same place as the first.
| Archaeik |
But would their Acid Arrows stack with each other? Keep in mind they are not casting it each round in this scenario. They think their damage should stack with each other so that they can roll 4d4 on each of their turn and then continue stacking it like that.
Each instance of Acid arrow deals 2d4, the damage per instance does not increase for multiple instances.
| My Self |
Jason hall 573 wrote:But would their Acid Arrows stack with each other? Keep in mind they are not casting it each round in this scenario. They think their damage should stack with each other so that they can roll 4d4 on each of their turn and then continue stacking it like that.Each instance of Acid arrow deals 2d4, the damage per instance does not increase for multiple instances.
Agreed. Damage per turn increases for multiple instances. So each acid arrow deals 2d4, but if you're hit by 2, you're taking 2d4 x2 a turn. Not quite the same as 4d4.
| Tels |
But would their Acid Arrows stack with each other? Keep in mind they are not casting it each round in this scenario. They think their damage should stack with each other so that they can roll 4d4 on each of their turn and then continue stacking it like that.
So this is what you're asking:
Player 1 casts Acid Arrow.
Player 2 casts Acid Arrow.
On Player 1's turn, the enemy takes 4d4 points of damage.
On Player 2's turn, the enemy takes another 4d4 points of damage.
Should a theoretical Player 3 cast Acid Arrow, then the enemy would take 6d4 points of damage on each of Player 1's, Player 2's and Player 3's following turns.
Is that correct? If so, the answer is no. The enemy would only take 2d4 damage on each person's turn, no matter how many Acid Arrows were cast as the damage doesn't add together to increase each interval of damage taken.
| Matthew Downie |
Each acid arrow does 2d4 damage per round. Each acid arrow has its own duration. They are entirely independent of one another.
Example:
A level 6 wizard casts Acid Arrow on a target. It does 2d4 damage.
Second level 6 wizard casts Acid Arrow on the same target. It does 2d4 damage.
The first wizard casts Acid Arrow again. It does 2d4 damage. His previous arrow also does 2d4 damage.
The second wizard casts Acid Arrow again. It does 2d4 damage. His previous arrow also does 2d4 damage.
The first wizard casts Acid Arrow again. It does 2d4 damage. His previous arrow also does 2d4 damage. His original arrow does a further 2d4 damage, but then its duration expires - that means even if he keeps on casting the same spell, he can never do more than 6d4 damage on his round.
| Gisher |
But would their Acid Arrows stack with each other? Keep in mind they are not casting it each round in this scenario. They think their damage should stack with each other so that they can roll 4d4 on each of their turn and then continue stacking it like that.
I think I see the confusion. They do stack, but what your players are proposing isn't stacking. Each spell only deals damage once a round on the turn of the person who cast it. Your players want the damage for all of the spells to be applied on every person's turn. That isn't stacking; its multiplying by the number of players and then stacking!
Here is an example of how it should work:
Abby, Bill, and Carmen are all 3rd level wizards. They see a troll walk out of a cave and head toward them, so all three decide to attack with Acid Arrow spells.
Round 1
- Abby goes first, she hits and rolls 2d4. The troll takes 7 hp in nasty, non-regenerating damage.
- Bill also hits so he rolls 2d4, and the troll takes another 5 hp in damage.
- Lastly Carmen's spell hits. She rolls 2d4, and the troll suffers yet another 6 hp in damage.
- The troll, having poor initiative, attacks last and slightly wounds Bill.
So by the end of the first round, the troll has suffered a total of 18 hp worth of damage. That is what stacking means: the individual damages add together. Not stacking would mean that once the first Arrow struck, the others would have no effect.
Round 2
- Abby is a 3rd level Wizard so her Acid Arrow from the last round still causes damage this round. Since it is Abby's turn, she only rolls for the damage from her own spell, not Bill's or Carmen's. They have to wait for their turns. She rolls 2d4 and the troll takes another 5 hp in damage. She attacks with her dagger but misses.
- Now Bill rolls 2d4 and his Acid Arrow spell kicks out another 3 hp of damage. He casts Magic Missile at the troll, wounding him even further.
- Carmen's Acid Arrow is also still active. Since it is her turn, she rolls 2d4. The Arrow deals 2 hp of damage.
- The troll (who, tragically, just wanted to offer these visitors some lemonade) is dead.
So this round, just like the last one, each Acid Arrow caused 2d4 in damage. The individual damages stack - in this case to 10 hp. Each person rolled for their own spell on their own turn. They didn't get to also roll for the other two spells, because that's not what stacking means.
I hope this helps.
| jbadams |
I think I see the confusion. They do stack, but what your players are proposing isn't stacking. Each spell only deals damage once a round on the turn of the person who cast it.
This is just semantics and I otherwise agree with what you're saying, but I wouldn't call that stacking any more than I would say the damage being applied from two different successful hits by a sword is "stacking".
They are independent effects that don't interact with each other in any way; each of them will cause the normal amount of damage at the normal time, regardless of the number of acid arrows currently effecting the target.
So personally my answer would be: no, they don't stack. Each will do the normal damage (2d4/round unless otherwise enhanced), regardless of the number of acid arrows currently effecting the target; subsequent spells still have full effect rather than being cancelled out by previous spells, but no additional damage is gained in this way -- you end up with the same total damage as if the spells had effected the target one at a time.
Other than the application of the term "stacking" Gisher's examples are spot-on. Nothing about either the spell or the general rules of Pathfinder suggest that what your players are wanting to do is correct.
| jbadams |
Bleed is a bit different though in that regardless of the number of sources it applies at the start of the bleeding character's turn; we use the term stacking because if they did we would add up all of the damage and apply it as a single "stacked" total.
Multiple instances of acid arrow work differently; they are independent effects that each apply on the caster's initiative count rather than adding ("stacking") them into a single total. To compare, if a character is hit by Character A's sword and then Character B's axe they will take damage from both, but we wouldn't say that that damage "stacks".
That might just be me though, and we do all agree on the actual game mechanics. I just thought it might be good to bring it up in case the OP thinks of the term stacking in the same way as I do and is getting confused by the other usage.
| Devilkiller |
When a caster has been hit by multiple Acid Arrows and subsequently attempts to cast a spell I wonder if folks generally call for a separate Concentration check for the continuous damage from each Acid Arrow or add all of the continuous damage for the round into one total and use a single Concentration check with a DC based on that total.
kinevon
|
When a caster has been hit by multiple Acid Arrows and subsequently attempts to cast a spell I wonder if folks generally call for a separate Concentration check for the continuous damage from each Acid Arrow or add all of the continuous damage for the round into one total and use a single Concentration check with a DC based on that total.
Depends. How would you handle that caster trying to cast a spell, but gets hit by a CL9 Magic Missile, which is 5x(1d4+1) damage each. Do they roll 5 concentration checks, one for each missile, or just one against the combined total damage from the 5 missiles?
| Tels |
Injury
If you take damage while trying to cast a spell, you must make a concentration check with a DC equal to 10 + the damage taken + the level of the spell you're casting. If you fail the check, you lose the spell without effect. The interrupting event strikes during spellcasting if it comes between the time you started and the time you complete a spell (for a spell with a casting time of 1 full round or more) or if it comes in response to your casting the spell (such as an attack of opportunity provoked by the spell or a contingent attack, such as a readied action).
If you are taking continuous damage, such as from an acid arrow or by standing in a lake of lava, half the damage is considered to take place while you are casting a spell. You must make a concentration check with a DC equal to 10 + 1/2 the damage that the continuous source last dealt + the level of the spell you're casting. If the last damage dealt was the last damage that the effect could deal, then the damage is over and does not distract you.
Well... it doesn't say 'attack' it just says 'damage'. So you would add all of the damage together before determining the DC of the check. So add up all the damage from the different acid arrows to total up the check; same as with magic missile.
| Archaeik |
Concentration Checks wrote:Well... it doesn't say 'attack' it just says 'damage'. So you would add all of the damage together before determining the DC of the check. So add up all the damage from the different acid arrows to total up the check; same as with magic missile.Injury
If you take damage while trying to cast a spell, you must make a concentration check with a DC equal to 10 + the damage taken + the level of the spell you're casting. If you fail the check, you lose the spell without effect. The interrupting event strikes during spellcasting if it comes between the time you started and the time you complete a spell (for a spell with a casting time of 1 full round or more) or if it comes in response to your casting the spell (such as an attack of opportunity provoked by the spell or a contingent attack, such as a readied action).
If you are taking continuous damage, such as from an acid arrow or by standing in a lake of lava, half the damage is considered to take place while you are casting a spell. You must make a concentration check with a DC equal to 10 + 1/2 the damage that the continuous source last dealt + the level of the spell you're casting. If the last damage dealt was the last damage that the effect could deal, then the damage is over and does not distract you.
Even if it's reasonable to adjudicate that you total Magic Missiles (I don't think it is), the continuous paragraph indicates "source", singular, so it's lots of individual checks.
I think it's individual checks per damage roll anyway, which is much more favorable to the caster and likely intended.