Scrapwall Fanatic

Dungeon Explorer's page

Organized Play Member. 13 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 3 Organized Play characters.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Will Feiya still be the Iconic Witch?


Contagious Zeal has the following wording for the spell:

School enchantment (compulsion) [emotion, mind-affecting]; Level bard 2, cleric 3, inquisitor 3, psychic 3, sorcerer/wizard 3, spiritualist 3
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
The target gains a +2 morale bonus on attack rolls and weapon damage rolls, 1d6 temporary hit points, and a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects and to the DC of Intimidate checks attempted against her. Once per round, the target can select one other creature to gain this bonus as well. The chosen creature can be no farther from the target than 25 feet + 5 feet for every 2 caster levels you possess, and a creature can't be selected more than once in this way. Such allies gain only the bonuses and temporary hit points; they don't continue to spread it to other creatures. The additional creatures' bonuses and temporary hit points share the original spell's duration, so when that duration ends, all affected creatures lose their bonuses and any remaining temporary hit points from this spell.

The one question I have as a GM about this spell is this. What type of action is it to spread the buff to other PCs? I doubt it would be a standard action. So would it be a move, swift, immediate or free action?


That makes more sense. But I probably wouldn't allow it in a game I ran it's way too cheesy/power gamer.


Casual Viking wrote:
Dungeon Explorer wrote:
shuggoth wrote:
It's boosting two separate smite abilities. I would agree with you if they were both smite evil but it is smite evil and smite chaos from two different classes.
Yeah but since you don't get your charisma bonus twice why should you get this twice?

Because there are rules about adding the same ability score to the same roll multiple times. You may think you're crafting cunning arguments, but you're really just demonstrating your own lack of knowledge.

On a more positive note, the Bracers do not add to any die rolls. They increase your effective level for a class ability. Similar to how a phylactery of channelng positive energy boost all the channeling pools of a multiclassed cleric/life oracle/life shaman.

There's no need to insult me when I never insulted you. But at the end of the day the wording says "a class" not "all classes" referring to one class not all classes. Which means that it shouldn't stack.


So why doesn't the character get their charisma twice if they stack like that?


shuggoth wrote:
It's boosting two separate smite abilities. I would agree with you if they were both smite evil but it is smite evil and smite chaos from two different classes.

Yeah but since you don't get your charisma bonus twice why should you get this twice?


shuggoth wrote:
Robe of Arcane Heritage will work with both a normal sorcerer bloodline and one acquired through eldritch heritage. We are not talking huge amounts here, in the case I through up it amounts to an extra 4 damage most times and rarely it could amount to 8

Eldritch Heritage says, "treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer" so it would always be at -2.

It obviously wasn't the game designers intent to let players stack bonuses up like that. Rules exploits are fun and all but unless you can make a good argument as to why it should work the GM will likely rule against it.


Yes, I could do that, and be a total lame duck. At some point, spending your swift action to get additional +5 to damage vs one target starts being a bad deal, and that point comes earlier than you may think.

Please explain to me how this item would give this bonus twice in universe? It makes no logical sense. Why couldn't we just cast Bull's Strength on the fighter twice in a row? It's the same type of bonus isn't it? So they should stack right? I just don't see the logic of why this single bonus should give it's bonus twice.


Casual Viking wrote:
Dungeon Explorer wrote:
I'm not so sure that it would stack. It specifically says that it you get the bonus to "a class that grants a smite ability" so that indicates that it would only go on the first smite that you used in combat.
I disagree, in order to indicate that, you would use language like "one class that grants a smite ability".

There is no item in the game that works like that. They language was written slightly off but unless a game designer specifically says that indeed that is the items purpose then we will have to disagree. Going on your logic you could take a level in every class that provides a smite that your alignment could allow and stack this same bonus over and over again. In fact the way you describe it you're saying that a Hellknight/Paladin/Chevalier that happens to be a level 20 character would get 32 levels worth of smite. Then that becomes the most overpowered piece of equipment in the game for just 11,500 gold.


shuggoth wrote:
The smites come from different classes.

Yes, but what is the in universe logic behind getting two bonuses from the same item?


I'm not so sure that it would stack. It specifically says that it you get the bonus to "a class that grants a smite ability" so that indicates that it would only go on the first smite that you used in combat.


But would their Acid Arrows stack with each other? Keep in mind they are not casting it each round in this scenario. They think their damage should stack with each other so that they can roll 4d4 on each of their turn and then continue stacking it like that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A player of mine was wondering if multiple sources of Acid Arrow stack with the Acid Arrow cast by another player to where it would do 4d4 damage on each players turn. I don't think it would but I thought I would get some feedback.