
Shade325 |

In the Lady's favor is it possible to encounter only 1 card and defeat the scenario?
Example Turn 1 - Flip a Blessing and then first encounter is Goblin Keelhaullin'. Defeat the ship summoned and stash a minimum of 4 plunder cards (lowest hand size) giving you 5 plunder stashed on your ship since you begin with 1 stashed during set up. For a 2 player game or less you now have more plunder cards stashed than locations.
A character with a hand size of 5 would complete the end condition for a 3 player game and a character with a hand size of 6 would do so for a 4 player game.
Admittedly a rare circumstance around a promo card but worth asking. I ran into this situation after only closing 1 location during a three player game. Character who found it had a hand size of 6 so that was the end of the scenario. Felt a bit odd.
Thanks,

Firedale2002 |

It may feel cheap, but that's the way randomness sometimes works and it isn't something that you can -plan- to do reliably.
Sometimes, you have to allow for abstraction because of how the rules work, just like sometimes, in the RPG, players make certain choices and take certain actions that completely baffle the game master and can change his/her plans drastically, sometimes even cutting out an entire adventure, but the story still goes on.

Xexyz |

Heh, this finally happened to my Wednesday game last week. 2-player, Olenjack goes first and his very first explore he encounters Goblin Keelhaullin'. The funny thing is that with Goblin Keelhaullin' you stash the cards regardless if you defeat the barrier or not, so victory was guaranteed as soon as he encountered the card.

Mike Selinker Lone Shark Games |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I remember our discussion about this at the time. Someone (likely Chad) said "But couldn't this..." and I said "Tell me why winning with a bunch of plunder on the first turn is bad, exactly." We were all on board with the idea that anyone who pulled this crazy trick off just deserved to sail home with a hold fulla loots.