How to buy named items in PFS a little at a time.


Pathfinder Society

Silver Crusade

I want a ten-ring broad sword. I can buy it in steps. So..
Master work nine-ring broad sword = 315g
The +1 enhancement = 2000g
Once I get 27 Fame I can upgrade to a +2
The +2 enhancement = 6000g
At 31 fame I can go the rest of the way
Ten-Ring abilities = 6000g

Now just to be clear I cannot now upgrade this sword to a +3 because we cannot upgrade named items and that’s what this is now.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-weapons/specific-magic-weapons/te n-ring-sword

[Edit to correct pricing]

Dark Archive

Off the top of my head, you're already wrong.

+1 cost 2000, +2 cost 8000

The Exchange 4/5 Owner - D20 Hobbies

TimrehIX wrote:
I want a ten-ring broad sword.

That item isn't PFS legal or I'd have one.

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

I don't believe you can upgrade an unnamed magic item to a named magic item.

5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Central & West

While you've got the jist of upgrading items (with the exception of some price errors as pointed out above), you can't upgrade into the ten-ring sword as far as PFS goes.

Quote:

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Ultimate Equipment

...

All specific magic weapons on pages 150–163, except bastard's sting, blade of the rising sun, blade of the sword-saint, cutthroat's apprentice, dagger of doubling, dragoncatch guisarme, earthenflail, hellscourge, lash of the howler, nine lives stealer, pistol of the infinite sky, polarity hammer, spider's fang, and ten-ring sword, are legal

5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Central & West

1 person marked this as a favorite.
FLite wrote:
I don't believe you can upgrade an unnamed magic item to a named magic item.

Yes, you can. See this FAQ.

Quote:

Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?

Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Upgraded versions of named magic items may appear on Chronicle sheets.

Intelligent magic items are not available for purchase unless they appear on a Chronicle sheet or are provided as part of a class or archetype (such as the black blade magus archetype).

Silver Crusade

I thought if I was getting a +2 it would cost me 8000g + cost of the masterwork item. And to upgrade from +1 to +2 I just needed to pay the difference.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Yes. That is correct. You just picked a bad example that's not legal in PFS.

Silver Crusade

why isn't it legal in pfs?

4/5 5/5

Because Additional Resources says so.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

David Montgomery cited the reason above.

Paizo Employee 4/5 Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sometimes Mike and I find one or more character options that we believe would do well if limited to a Chronicle sheet, such as what has happened with several types of familiar; it's nice to have the items listed on the sheet have significance and value. I believe the ten ring broadsword is one such item, though I don't believe it has ended up on a scenario Chronicle sheet as of yet. I have an inkling that it might have shown up on an Adventure Path Chronicle sheet.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Um, David cited the reason it IS legal.

edit: never mind, that was the Ten Ring Sword, not the Ten Ring Broadsword that is legal.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Just ignore my previous post, I think I'm too tired to read tonight.

Silver Crusade

Ok, well I can't have my ten-ring broad sword but other than that is my math correct?

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

David Montgomery wrote:
FLite wrote:
I don't believe you can upgrade an unnamed magic item to a named magic item.

Yes, you can. See this FAQ.

Ah. It has been too long since I looked at the FAQ, and apparently I forgot which way it went.

The Exchange 4/5 Owner - D20 Hobbies

Drake Brimstone wrote:
Um, David cited the reason it IS legal.

Change IS to IS NOT and you are correct.

John Compton wrote:
might have shown up on an Adventure Path Chronicle sheet.

Inquiring minds are dying to know which AP this is so they can play that AP.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

My guess would be Jade Regent.

Paizo Employee 4/5 Developer

James Risner wrote:
John Compton wrote:
might have shown up on an Adventure Path Chronicle sheet.
Inquiring minds are dying to know which AP this is so they can play that AP.

Actually, the "inkling" mentioned above is not an expression of my love of strategic understatement. I have not gone looking through the Chronicle sheets searching for this item, and I wouldn't recommend the practice.

That said, I now know that at least one person is itching to find this on a Chronicle sheet. That reminds me to consider this item for a future Chronicle sheet.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes Please! I'll make you cookies! I make awesome cookies!

Grand Lodge 5/5

TimrehIX wrote:
Ok, well I can't have my ten-ring broad sword but other than that is my math correct?

Yes.

Dark Archive

A good place to start looking would be the chronicle sheet for the adventure that the stats for the item were first printed in.

The Exchange 4/5 Owner - D20 Hobbies

Victor Zajic wrote:
A good place to start looking would be the chronicle sheet for the adventure that the stats for the item were first printed in.

Only place I know it exists is in UE, which AP was it printed first?

Dark Archive

I apparently got the 10-ring broadsword confused with the nine-fold spirit sword(which is another kind of magical nine ring broadsword).

5/5

Victor Zajic wrote:
I apparently got the 10-ring broadsword confused with the nine-fold spirit sword(which is another kind of magical nine ring broadsword).

That tenth ring is just totes OP, apparently. ;)

5/5

TimrehIX wrote:
Yes Please! I'll make you cookies! I make awesome cookies!

I have no proof to offer in support of this statement. *peers at TimrehIX*

Silver Crusade

Come to a Dallas PFS game. I'll prove it.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
TimrehIX wrote:
Come to a Dallas PFS game. I'll prove it.

Until she got fired I think our local cookie baker here in San Antonio wouk beaten your cookies any day!

Dallas Vs. San Antonio Bake Off!!!!

Silver Crusade

Awe man if she got fired I would hate to make it worse by out baking her. That would just be mean.

Grand Lodge 4/5 * Venture-Agent, Texas—Houston

Dragnmoon wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:
Come to a Dallas PFS game. I'll prove it.

Until she got fired I think our local cookie baker here in San Antonio wouk beaten your cookies any day!

Dallas Vs. San Antonio Bake Off!!!!

I demand Houston representation in this event!

5/5

TimrehIX wrote:
Come to a Dallas PFS game. I'll prove it.

I... do... :) *bonk*

Dark Archive 2/5

But can't we simply just have one ring to rule them all...

4/5

*whispers into his shirt* Staff of Power...

4/5

Majuba, TimrehIX; oooh... in response to the cookie thing... I think I'm the ONLY person who has brought cookies to a Dallas PFS game. But thanks to the guy who brings the glazed donuts... *-<8^)

We could kick some chips at OwlCon...

Grand Lodge 4/5 * Venture-Agent, Texas—Houston

Stephen Ross wrote:

Majuba, TimrehIX; oooh... in response to the cookie thing... I think I'm the ONLY person who has brought cookies to a Dallas PFS game. But thanks to the guy who brings the glazed donuts... *-<8^)

We could kick some chips at OwlCon...

You totally should. We still need a couple GMs and a sing-in desk volunteer. Email me if you're down for that, it's

Spoiler:
vlyoungblood@houstonpfs.com
Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Dragnmoon wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:
Come to a Dallas PFS game. I'll prove it.

Until she got fired I think our local cookie baker here in San Antonio wouk beaten your cookies any day!

Dallas Vs. San Antonio Bake Off!!!!

Heh, until she got sucked into her online game,* I'd bet our local cookie baker against yours.

*

Spoiler:
work, not play, she's part of the Flight Rising team


James Risner wrote:
Inquiring minds are dying to know which AP this is so they can play that AP.

Why is this sword so good? Dont get me wrong, I realize an extra ring slot is really cool. But for the price, I thought it would be better just to have a +3 weapon. Guess that still leaves Adamantine DR to try and bypass. Is that the biggest upside?

Silver Crusade

I liked it cuzz it went with the theme of my character so well. It is the only named nine-ring sword that I saw.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Stephen Ross wrote:
*whispers into his shirt* Staff of Power...

Can anyone really afford a quarter million gold piece item for a chronicle?

4/5

LazarX wrote:
Stephen Ross wrote:
Benjamin F. wrote:
But can't we simply just have one ring to rule them all...
*whispers into his shirt* Staff of Power...
Can anyone really afford a quarter million gold piece item for a chronicle?

hmmm... explaining a joke only removes the humor.

Reference the character Brick from TV show "the middle"... as in Middle Earth... as in The One Ring... Brick would often whisper into his shirt in an attempt at subliminal suggestion to get what he wanted...

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Legal or not, I might also suggest waiting until you can afford a +1 weapon entirely rather than paying to get something masterwork then upgrade it.

By purchasing a +1 weapon (or anything made of a special material), it will already be treated as masterwork and save you some gold.

5/5

Silh wrote:

Legal or not, I might also suggest waiting until you can afford a +1 weapon entirely rather than paying to get something masterwork then upgrade it.

By purchasing a +1 weapon (or anything made of a special material), it will already be treated as masterwork and save you some gold.

If it's just a normal magic weapon, you have to buy the normal masterwork weapon before it's enchanted regardless of if it's upgrading a weapon you've been using or buying new.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Sniggevert wrote:
Silh wrote:

Legal or not, I might also suggest waiting until you can afford a +1 weapon entirely rather than paying to get something masterwork then upgrade it.

By purchasing a +1 weapon (or anything made of a special material), it will already be treated as masterwork and save you some gold.

If it's just a normal magic weapon, you have to buy the normal masterwork weapon before it's enchanted regardless of if it's upgrading a weapon you've been using or buying new.

Really? I thought that masterwork would have been factored in already as it does for everything else (or so I thought). Good to know, thanks.

Silver Crusade

You need to pay for the masterwork then the magicness.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / How to buy named items in PFS a little at a time. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society