Permanent dragon form I only allows one breath weapon?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?


Hmmmm RAW it seems so, though maybe you could interpret that it gets one use every/x amount of minutes (x being the caster level of the person who cast the spell). So lets see if a sorcerer casts it they get 8th level spells at 16th level meaning the lizard (now dragon) could use the breath weapon once every 16 minutes, while a wizards lizard can use it once every 15 minutes.

At least thats how I would rule it.


Ravingdork,

You ask so many odd rules questions that I sometimes wonder if these things actually come up in your games, or if you just sit around pondering Pathfinder "What If?" scenarios.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
HappyDaze wrote:

Ravingdork,

You ask so many odd rules questions that I sometimes wonder if these things actually come up in your games, or if you just sit around pondering Pathfinder "What If?" scenarios.

If it came up in a game, I generally say as much.

As such, you can generally assume it's a spontaneous question.


Ravingdork wrote:


As such, you can generally assume it's a spontaneous question.

this is a quality to be much admired in a man, as asking questions is what made us what we are today... or at least, those parts of society that haven't been zombified by reality tv.

as to the question... if i were DMing it i'd have it limited to once per day for something like a week or two while the magic takes hold, then incrementally allow it more power as the spell solidifies its grasp on the poor creature. i really hope you have a level 20 enchanter with charm monster near by, as a lizard-turned-dragon isn't going to be safe to be around. (Assuming you want it as a pet, of course. as a distraction while you flee... well, i don't think you need to worry about controlling it then).

consider this thread dotted. i'd play some theme music, but the band's gone home for the night. (Joke, DO NOT GET RAW ABOUT IT! Please?)

Grand Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.

Liberty's Edge

Doesn't your creature type never change with polymorph spells? You are never really a true dragon, just using magic that has power limits.


LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.

technically true, though I'd probably assign it a recharge value that can not hope to be accomplished within the spell's duration even if it is extended and cast by a lvl 30 wizard. 1/day is what I'd go with.


Tis true, only 1 breath weapon atk per casting, but if it was permanent I would make it 1/encounter personally.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Remco Sommeling wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.
technically true, though I'd probably assign it a recharge value that can not hope to be accomplished within the spell's duration even if it is extended and cast by a lvl 30 wizard. 1/day is what I'd go with.

Isn't an extended level 30 dragon form I last 1 hour?

So shouldn't we make it once per hour?

(By the way, I LOVE the ruling of allowing it every time its "normal" duration would have reset.)


That's why you cross your fingers that you'll get Form of the Dragon III instead of I for you to get permanent :)

Frog God Games

Does it truly become a dragon or simply take the FORM of a dragon?

There's a huge difference between being turned into an actual dragon and being made to LOOK like an actual dragon.

In which case - tough luck on that breath weapon, faux-dragon.


Chuck Wright wrote:

Does it truly become a dragon or simply take the FORM of a dragon?

There's a huge difference between being turned into an actual dragon and being made to LOOK like an actual dragon.

In which case - tough luck on that breath weapon, faux-dragon.

This.

Just because a creature has the form of a dragon, doesn't make it a real one. I would interpret the one time breath weapon as the remnant of the transformation's spell energy being ejected. ;)


Ravingdork wrote:
Remco Sommeling wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.
technically true, though I'd probably assign it a recharge value that can not hope to be accomplished within the spell's duration even if it is extended and cast by a lvl 30 wizard. 1/day is what I'd go with.

Isn't an extended level 30 dragon form I last 1 hour?

So shouldn't we make it once per hour?

(By the way, I LOVE the ruling of allowing it every time its "normal" duration would have reset.)

Well you would run into the oddity of a higher level caster having a slower recharge time than a lower level one, technically the spell is only cast once ofcourse.

I would make it at least once per hour, but personally the 1/day feels more 'right' having the breath weapon recharge when most other resources recharge. A half-dragon has a 1/day breathweapon too which gives it a basis for a ruling, and it is already a lenient ruling.


Making it permanent? With what? Would it be house-ruling?


Void Munchkin wrote:
Making it permanent? With what? Would it be house-ruling?

Polymorph Any Object is the source of the permanency. Since it functions as greater polymorph, which functions as form of the dragon 1, it is a means to get a permanent Form of the Dragon 1.

Frog God Games

Form of the Dragon I/II/III

Polymorph Any Object

Polymorph & Greater Polymorph

Reading through all of those I keep seeing the wording "Takes the form of" in most places. In one instance... that of Form o f the Dragon I, it says "become a ... dragon". The other two say "assume the form of" and "take the form of".

That said, I'm still going to have to say that it's against the rules as intended to be able to inadvertently create a fully-fledged dragon from nothing. Something permanently taking the form of a dragon is pretty damned powerful anyway. Except for the minimum physical stats of 10 each and minimum mental stats of 15 each.


so, pushing it a little.

Frog God Games

Raving Dork always does. ;)


Chuck Wright wrote:
Raving Dork always does. ;)

.

.
K...


Few questions about lycanthropy:

1) Can Natural Lycanthropes supress their ability to transmit the curse?

2) Would two lycanthropes fighting each other be able to bypass their DR or do they have to hope for very good rolls?

3A) Can Lycanthropy be given to someone with the augmented humanoid subtype instead of the humanoid type?

3B) If yes and one cheated a little, could Half-Celestials, Half-Dragons and Half-Fiends be Lycanthropes? (If you give them the augmented humanoid subtype)

3C) if yes to 3A and 3B, how awesome looking would their hybrid and animal forms be?

=====

James Jacobs's answer was practically "house-rule at your own risks".


All I can say is that lizard better make it a good one..its the only one he is ever gonna get.


Quote:
1) Can Natural Lycanthropes supress their ability to transmit the curse?

No. The ability doesn't say "can" or "may" transmit the curse. THe lycanthrope bites, the curse is transmitted (though there is a fort save). If the lycanthrope doesn't want to spread the curse, then he shouldn't bite people.

Quote:
2) Would two lycanthropes fighting each other be able to bypass their DR or do they have to hope for very good rolls?

If a creature has DR, its natural attacks can overcome that same kind of DR. (Beastiary 1, page 299. Under Damage Reduction.) Manufactured weapons must still get lucky or be the appropriate material though.

Quote:
3A) Can Lycanthropy be given to someone with the augmented humanoid subtype instead of the humanoid type?

Augmented is a subtype. The creatures type is still Humanoid, so still qualifies.

Quote:
3B) If yes and one cheated a little, could Half-Celestials, Half-Dragons and Half-Fiends be Lycanthropes? (If you give them the augmented humanoid subtype)

No. Half-fiend and half-celestial change the targets type to outsider, while half-dragon changes it to dragon. Neither of those two types can be lycanthropes. Augmented is a subtype, but the creature must be a humanoid to become a lycanthrope. Again, augmented is a subtype, not a creature type. The lycanthrope template only cares what your creature type is, not your subtype.

Edit: Actually, 3B is a little more complicated. A half-fiend/dragon/celestial can not be bitten and become a lycanthrope. However, those templates can be added to a lycanthrope. So you could have a half-dragon lycanthrope (one dragon parent, one lycanthrope parent.) They are either born that way, or the lycanthrope undergoes some powerful magic.


Jeraa wrote:


Quote:
2) Would two lycanthropes fighting each other be able to bypass their DR or do they have to hope for very good rolls?

If a creature has DR, its natural attacks can overcome that same kind of DR. (Beastiary 1, page 299. Under Damage Reduction.) Manufactured weapons must still get lucky or be the appropriate material though.

.

.
It says for creature with DRx/Magic, it doesn't say it works for others.


Quote:
Edit: Actually, 3B is a little more complicated. A half-fiend/dragon/celestial can not be bitten and become a lycanthrope. However, those templates can be added to a lycanthrope. So you could have a half-dragon lycanthrope (one dragon parent, one lycanthrope parent.) They are either born that way, or the lycanthrope undergoes some powerful magic.

.

.
This is more or less where I was going.


Quote:


.
It says for creature with DRx/Magic, it doesn't say it works for others.

Keep reading. There is a second column. It also applies to DR/epic, and alignment-based DR too (though that one requires you to have a specific subtype). Though I did just notice special materials are left out. So the lycanthropes would have to get lucky to damage each other.

Frog God Games

Wondrous item dentures!

Grand Lodge

Remco Sommeling wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.
technically true, though I'd probably assign it a recharge value that can not hope to be accomplished within the spell's duration even if it is extended and cast by a lvl 30 wizard. 1/day is what I'd go with.

I'm strongly against it on the principle that player-available magic is strong enough as it is. It's not a rule that adds anything to the game.

NOW, as a GM, that doesn't stop me from introducing an encounter in which a permanently polymorphed dragon has somehow picked up a recharge ability, I simply would not make that a standard outcome of a permanent polymorph.

It's my philosophy that rules are made to circumscribe the actions of players. Part of how you fuel fantasy drama is when the Universe breaks those same rules.

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Polymorph any object has the potential to change a creature to another kind of creature permanently.

The spell references Greater Polymorph, which in turn references Form of the Dragon I when turning something into a dragon.

So...if I turn a lizard into a dragon FOREVER, it only ever gets one use of its breath weapon? Even if it remains a dragon FOR YEARS?

Even if it remains a dragon for the rest of eternity. One breath per that spell... PERIOD.

/thread

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Permanent dragon form I only allows one breath weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.