
sithious |
This wasn't much of an issue up untill we finished Burnt offerings. Now I'm a new GM, so this might be my missinterpretation of the rules, but as far as I understood, the wizard gets a spell slot for his school per level?
Our wizard is was lvl4 when they fought Nualia and with him also having 18int, he was able to save up his Bison (summon monser IV) for that fight.
Now I don't know If that damage was taken into account for this fight but between the fighter the bison and my wizards flaming sphere, she was dust in hardly any time...
Is this to be expected and will the difficulty ramp up with The Skinsaw Murrders or have I just been interpreting the wizard spell's per day wrong?

![]() |

This wasn't much of an issue up untill we finished Burnt offerings. Now I'm a new GM, so this might be my missinterpretation of the rules, but as far as I understood, the wizard gets a spell slot for his school per level?
Our wizard is was lvl4 when they fought Nualia and with him also having 18int, he was able to save up his Bison (summon monser IV) for that fight.
Now I don't know If that damage was taken into account for this fight but between the fighter the bison and my wizards flaming sphere, she was dust in hardly any time...Is this to be expected and will the difficulty ramp up with The Skinsaw Murrders or have I just been interpreting the wizard spell's per day wrong?
He should not have been able to cast summon monster IV. That's a 4th-level spell, which he shouldn't have access to until 9th level. The spells he COULD cast would be summon monster I and II, which give you things like a horse or a goblin dog.
In other words, don't let your Wizard player try to cast 4th level spells at 4th level!
Edit: Ah, and I see where your mistake was. He gets a school slot for each SPELL LEVEL that he can cast, not each Wizard level. So he should have TWO school slots, one 1st level and one 2nd level.

sithious |
Ouch, seems I've botched that up hard... I'm still unsure I fully understand how the wizard spells work in this case. I'll look into it and see what's what.
EDIT:
I see so in Table 3-16 It says he gets 4(0lvl spells), 3(1st lvl spells) and 1(2nd lvl spell). So these are the only spell levels he can cast? What abou Table 1-3 which says that he gets another extra 3rd lvl spell and another extra 4th lvl spell? Does that come into effect only once he gets those spells on the wizard spell list table?
I have to say the rules on this aren't as clear as I feel they should be on this... Especially for new players. It made sense that a 4th lvl wizard can cast 4th lvl spells...

Thanis Kartaleon |

So, a wizard's spells per day are dependent on three things:
1) Class level. This is covered in the table for the Wizard class. A 4th level wizard has 4 cantrip (level 0) spell slots, 3 1st-level spell slots, and 2 2nd-level spell slots.
2) Intelligence score. This is covered on table 1-3. If the wizard's Intelligence is high enough, he receives bonus spell slots. He must already have access to a spell level from his class before receiving bonus spell slots from Intelligence. A 4th level wizard with an 18 Intelligence would receive a bonus 1st- and 2nd-level spell slot. When he advances to 5th level and gains access to 3rd-level spells, he'll also get a bonus 3rd-level spell slot from his Intelligence.
3) Arcane School Specialty - this one is optional, but if the wizard has chosen to specialize, he receives a bonus spell slot for every spell level he has access to, save for cantrips.

sithious |
Yeah, I went through the entire thing again and It all makes sense looking at it again. More so from the way the last few fights went in the last chapter of Burnt Offerings.
Thanks for clearing all of that up and I'm sure I'll be back before you all know it with more basic questions when they come up in our campaign (as I'm sure they will).
Thanks again!