
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

After a recent discussion about whether spells with a range of personal can be made into potions (they can't), it occurred to me that, unlike PCs, NPCs are both empowered and bound by the rules contained within the Magic Item Creation section of the CRB (pages 547-553). If they were not, then PFS Golarion would be filled with items created only by direct divine intervention. This is supported by the fact that a substantial number of NPCs (particularly Wizards) have crafting feats.
I raise this point to lend credence to the following extrapolation: if NPCs are not forbidden to access to the crafting rules, then, by the extant rules, it is possible for PCs to commission both magic items with multiple enchantments and custom staves.
One might raise the objection that PCs aren't allowed to commission magical items, only to buy the items that one finds specifically listed in player legal resources. If that's the case, then I'd recommend pouring out your potions, burning your scrolls, and using your wands as fire wood, as they exist in the legal resources only as crafting guidelines. And, from a slightly more simulationist perspective, Golarion does not support the idea that one can walk into the local Exotic Two-Handed Weapons Inc., pick a +1 Flaming Spell Storing kyoketsu shoge off the shelf, and check it out at the register. Rather, that poor, misguided Monk would have to make a request of a local artisan and pick up the item upon its completion.

![]() |

Now that I have left the obligatory blunt answer let me explain.
All of the items that are legal for pathfinder society play have PURCHASE prices. This is a very important thing to notice. That +1 Flaming Spell Storing kyoketsu is based off of rules that govern how to add up the PURCHASE prices of the individual enchantments. Scrolls, wands, and potions all have PURCHASE prices from them at minimal caster level (hence why we can only buy them at such level). If it does not have a PURCHASE price then we can not use it.
Here's why: The crafting rules are not rules they are guidelines to help a GM come to their own conclusion. In fact the Magic Item Creation section specifically says this. "Many factors must be considered when determining the price of new magic items. The easiest way to come up with a price is to compare the new item to an item that is already priced, using that price as a guide. Otherwise, use the guidelines summarized on Table: Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values." Note that in addition to calling the crafting pricing equations a guideline it explains that a GM should actually price crafted items based off of comparison with other items. How are we at PFS to keep pricing consistent if the rules leave it up to the GM's. GM 1 will price it at x, GM to at y, and so on. Even items with purchase prices do not follow an equation. Pick a few items in the book and compare their price to the guidelines. A lot of items don't follow them at all. Pricing is an art not a math equation. Thus we don't allow crafting at all, PC or NPC. Only items that have been discussed by developers and have a purchase price set by them are allowed.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Neither of the cases I mentioned have any chance whatsoever of GM variation, so long as the GM in question has the rules at hand and can is capable of verifying math. If I have a Belt of Incredible Dexterity +2 (4,000gp) and I want to add a Heavyload Belt (2,000gp) to it, I owe 4,000gp, and the item in its entirety is worth 8,000gp. There's no GM variation possible there; it's just arithemetic.
The quote contained in your post isn't relevant to the question at hand. Rather, it's found in the "Magic Item Gold Piece Value" section, which describes the general pricing of items. The specific pricing of staves and the cost of adding another ability to a slotted item are found in entirely different sections governed by their own specific rules; neither the "Magic Item Gold Piece Value" section nor the table it references need ever be consulted when pricing one of these items.
Furthermore, the practice of distinguishing between "item price" and "purchase price" isn't supported by precedent from either the Guide to Organized Play or the CRB.
In summary, these are specific and well-defined sets of rules that are no more variable than anything else in PFS and substantially less so than some (masterwork tools, for a quick CRB example). If you can come up with even a single instance where two GMs could provide different viable figures for a staff or dual-enchantment item, then I'd certainly be interested to hear it.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The answer is still no, though. There's no in-game reason, it's entirely a metagame concept.
PFS tries to make sure that the GM doesn't have 6 wonky characters at his or her table with custom items, GM fiat abilities, etc. One way that is accomplished is that the only items that are legal are the ones with purchase prices in the book.
And frankly, "no crafting" has been in since the beginning; it's unlikely to change now, and it's even less likely that a "loophole" would be allowed to exploit what is specifically against the rules. Sorry, but it's part of PFS.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

@Iliest, your example of a dual-enchantment belt is, in itself, easily turned into exactly what you said you were looking for, something that could be priced in two different ways to two different prices.
Belt of Dexterity - 4K gp
Add: Heavyload Belt (2K gp) +4K gp
Total: 8K gp
Heavyload Belt - 2K gp
Add: Belt of Dexteriry (4K gp) +8K gp
Total: 10K gp
Same final item, different final prices.
Have a nice day.
And thank whichever deity you would that we don't have to use Magic Item Creation Sheets and Magic Item Use Tracking Sheets, with GM signatures for every entry on each line on each sheet. Oh, and, of course, no TUs to limit the ridiculousness of item crafting... And spoil a player's ability to play whichever of his PCs he wants at an appropriate tiered game.