Final Battle Rules Call


Carrion Crown


I need some assistance on a specific rules call in the final battle. I know this will come up and I want to be prepared.

Carrion Crown:

The last fight is with of course a magus.

So Let me paint the Picture

AA: Uses Spell Combat to attack suffering a -2 to all attack rolls.

Move Action: Moves up to PC
Standard Action: Spell Combat
--> Concentration Check DC 19 (Casting Intensified Shocking Grasp)
--> Makes Spell Strike Roll To hit = Misses
--->Makes Normal Roll to hit = Hit (Does Shocking Grasp go off?)

Other Sceniero
AA Knows the PC's are own their way to him, he prepares by casting a Frigid Touch spell and Holding the Charge.

Charcters Show up, Initive
AA Goes Uses Normal Combat and Rolls to hit and Hits
Does Frigid touch go off?

I guess what I'm saying is there is a great deal of debating on how spell strike works of does not work.

1. Can A magus hold a charge if he uses spell strike and misses?
2. Do Touch spells that provide multiple charges work with a magus and the spellstrike feature?
3. Can A magus hold a charge to use with spellstrike later?
4. When using just the spell strike feature can a magus Cast the spell, Move, Make a melee attack?

I think that the final battle should be climatic and I really don't want to ruin the flavor by not using the rules correctly I would dearly love some official feedback, or a reference to some rules to understand these feature with out debate from my players.


Spoiler:
Spell combat is a full-round action, not a standard action. So, he'd have to run up and cast it in their face, provoking an attack of opportunity, to do that.

Frigid touch does go off.

Quote:

1. Can A magus hold a charge if he uses spell strike and misses?

2. Do Touch spells that provide multiple charges work with a magus and the spellstrike feature?
3. Can A magus hold a charge to use with spellstrike later?
4. When using just the spell strike feature can a magus Cast the spell, Move, Make a melee attack?

1. Yes

2. Yes
3. Yes
4. No-- but he can cast the spell, move, and make a touch attack, as per the rules of touch attack spells.

If the PCs begin to doubt your rulings, shout "I'm the #%@!ing GM! and throw your coke at them. No, but really, this is how it works. Just don't try to use Spell Combat as a standard action again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Carrion Crown / Final Battle Rules Call All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Carrion Crown