Transmute rock to mud question..


Rules Questions

Sczarni

could you cast transmute rock to mud and then when an enemy is inside the mud cast transmute mud to rock and completely capture the enemy making him helpless or some other similar debilitation.


northbrb wrote:
could you cast transmute rock to mud and then when an enemy is inside the mud cast transmute mud to rock and completely capture the enemy making him helpless or some other similar debilitation.

he would have to fail both saves, but yes, he would be immobile, but not helpless, unless he was prone when the second spell went off, which would lock him up like Han Solo :)


northbrb wrote:
could you cast transmute rock to mud and then when an enemy is inside the mud cast transmute mud to rock and completely capture the enemy making him helpless or some other similar debilitation.

Sure. Reflex save negates, according to transmute mud to rock's spell description. That's an oldie but goodie, brings a tear to my eye *sniff*.

Sczarni

thanks for the quick response


I don't think prone creatures would be trapped, as the mud is not that liquid. Think of a quicksand: being prone actually helps not to sink. A prone creature has its chest and hip level with their feet.

PRD wrote:
A creature [...] sinks until hip- or chest-deep

Anyways... after failing the saves, the people would be trapped. Beware of not getting your allies in there!

Trapped, but not helpless. Rather immobilized. Can't escape area spells (clouds) but can attack and defend themselves.
If they are melee fighters and you have ranged weaponry, feel free to pincushion them... if you aren't that guy:

"My name is Good. Lawful Good. And I'm a Paladin."


Louis IX wrote:
I don't think prone creatures would be trapped, as the mud is not that liquid. Think of a quicksand: being prone actually helps not to sink. A prone creature has its chest and hip level with their feet.

Wait, wait, wait, wait.

Are you suggesting that because quicksand says that a character sinks to chest- or hip-level, that being prone in quicksand is better than standing in it, because you wouldn't sink as much before your chest and hips were in the quicksand?


Rake wrote:
Louis IX wrote:
I don't think prone creatures would be trapped, as the mud is not that liquid. Think of a quicksand: being prone actually helps not to sink. A prone creature has its chest and hip level with their feet.

Wait, wait, wait, wait.

Are you suggesting that because quicksand says that a character sinks to chest- or hip-level, that being prone in quicksand is better than standing in it, because you wouldn't sink as much before your chest and hips were in the quicksand?

It's a tactic for surviving quicksand; you're trying to "float" in it, dispersing your mass over the entire ventral surface of your body. Standing in it puts all your mass on the bottoms of your feet, thus creating better penetration. And after that, you sink in and die.


Louis IX wrote:

I don't think prone creatures would be trapped, as the mud is not that liquid. Think of a quicksand: being prone actually helps not to sink. A prone creature has its chest and hip level with their feet.

PRD wrote:
A creature [...] sinks until hip- or chest-deep

Anyways... after failing the saves, the people would be trapped. Beware of not getting your allies in there!

Trapped, but not helpless. Rather immobilized. Can't escape area spells (clouds) but can attack and defend themselves.
If they are melee fighters and you have ranged weaponry, feel free to pincushion them... if you aren't that guy:

"My name is Good. Lawful Good. And I'm a Paladin."

My paladin doesn't have a problem with it!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transmute rock to mud question.. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.