Yetisburg Clarification Question


Games

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I am assuming If neither side has reinforcements the side with initiative loses since they reinforce first?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:
I am assuming If neither side has reinforcements the side with initiative loses since they reinforce first?

Hey, Steve,

That's certainly how I understood it. I've won more than one game by going second.

Paizo Employee CEO

Dragnmoon wrote:
I am assuming If neither side has reinforcements the side with initiative loses since they reinforce first?

Correct.

-Lisa


But don't forget you flip the initiative marker (step 3) right before you draw (step 4). So the side that most recently had the initiative in the volley step will win, because they won't have initiative in the draw step.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

jhunterj wrote:
But don't forget you flip the initiative marker (step 3) right before you draw (step 4). So the side that most recently had the initiative in the volley step will win, because they won't have initiative in the draw step.

You are correct, sir! (In fact, that's the whole reason that step 3 and 4 occur in that order—we wanted the person with the advantage to keep the advantage for the entire turn, which, oddly enough, means giving up initiative before the end of the turn!)


jhunterj wrote:
But don't forget you flip the initiative marker (step 3) right before you draw (step 4). So the side that most recently had the initiative in the volley step will win, because they won't have initiative in the draw step.

Hey jhunterj!


My first game ended this way and I wasn't sure if it was a win or a tie. Here's what happened:

-The combat round began with Blue having the initiative marker. Both players had at least one stack of cards down to 0, but the first two lines were full, so battle continued.
-During combat we both took losses in columns that had 0 cards in reserve.
-The Reinforcement part of Step 3 came and neither of us could fill in our lines.

Does Blue lose because they had initiative and failed to reinforce first? Or does this happen simultaneously and it was a tie? I think the initiative flip happens after Reinforcement, right, so in this case the player with initiative is at the disadvantage?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

anarce wrote:

My first game ended this way and I wasn't sure if it was a win or a tie. Here's what happened:

-The combat round began with Blue having the initiative marker. Both players had at least one stack of cards down to 0, but the first two lines were full, so battle continued.
-During combat we both took losses in columns that had 0 cards in reserve.
-The Reinforcement part of Step 3 came and neither of us could fill in our lines.

Does Blue lose because they had initiative and failed to reinforce first? Or does this happen simultaneously and it was a tie? I think the initiative flip happens after Reinforcement, right, so in this case the player with initiative is at the disadvantage?

From "Object of the Game": "You win if your opponent has to draw a card and cannot."

From "How Folks Reinforce": "...move cards to fill in any holes in the battle lines, starting with the player who has initiative."

So, the player with initiative would "lose first" in the situation you describe.


Thanks for the reply! Looks like I won the first game then. :)


Yetisburg wrote:
note that a Yeti who crushes an Artillery on its way to the trench does not receive a wound from that exploding Artillery.

I assume that this means the people to the left and right of the Artillery do get wounded.

If so, what happens when a Yeti gets pushed back into the front line onto an Artillery? Presumably, the people to the left, right, and back of it get wounded, but does either Yeti?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Ashkecker wrote:
Yetisburg wrote:
note that a Yeti who crushes an Artillery on its way to the trench does not receive a wound from that exploding Artillery.

I assume that this means the people to the left and right of the Artillery do get wounded.

If so, what happens when a Yeti gets pushed back into the front line onto an Artillery? Presumably, the people to the left, right, and back of it get wounded, but does either Yeti?

Relevant rules bits:

Bottom of Page 11/Top of Page 12: A card becomes a casualty... when it gets crushed by a Yeti moving into or out of the trench.

Page 12: "If an Artillery becomes a casualty, it explodes... place one meat counter on each faceup card one space to the left, right, forward, back of the exploding Artillery."

So, yes, the Artillery explode in both cases, with meat flying in all four directions. The Yeti that caused the Artillery to explode remains unharmed in both cases (safe in the eye of the hurricane, as it were).

The note probably should have said "note that a Yeti who crushes an Artillery on its way into or out of the trench does not receive a wound from that exploding Artillery;" it's implied, but it's not explicit.


My wife got the game for her birthday and we have a rules question... how does the pointer work. If it points to the side, do they attack their own troops? What happens if your soldier is on the right flank and the pointer points right? Does that person attack empty space? I have reread the rules and cannot find the relevant information on how exactly the pointer works.....


deranged wrote:
If it points to the side, do they attack their own troops? What happens if your soldier is on the right flank and the pointer points right? Does that person attack empty space?

Yes and yes. :-)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Joshua J. Frost wrote:
deranged wrote:
If it points to the side, do they attack their own troops? What happens if your soldier is on the right flank and the pointer points right? Does that person attack empty space?
Yes and yes. :-)

For the first question, we did note that everyone's vulnerable to poorly aimed bullets (page 4), and that Infantry and Cavalry "always" inflict one wound on the target (page 10), and Yeti inflict wounds to "any" card (page 11). Also, the "Exploding mastodons" and "Hitting your own Yetis" sections (both on page 12) wouldn't make any sense if there weren't such a thing as friendly fire. And the flavor section on page 2 mentions that "bullets in a territory of war know no difference betwixt friend and foe," and the box back says that "great generals engineered the destruction of the opposing forces and quite often their own." But we probably should have included a sentence that explicitly says that attacks can—and often do—inflict damage on the player's own troops. That's actually where a lot of the fun comes in!

The relevant rule for the second question is on page 11: "Shots may leave the battlefield; if they do, they hit nothing."


Excellent. Thanks for the quick response. The game, from the initial play, was fun. If you decide to do other battles (such as the Dismember the Alamo) I would encourage an example of play section. Just a thought. Keep up the good work!

Community / Forums / Archive / Paizo / Paizo Games / Yetisburg Clarification Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Paizo Games