
Forever Man RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32 |

In SCAP (Flood Season), one of my buffed-up players got seriously "de-buffed" from a Dispel Magic from Tarkilar. Yet we ran into a quandry. The party cleric had cast Magic Weapon on the character's Greataxe. Tarkilar used a "targeted" dispel. The PHB mentions that the "targeted" dispel can be cast on a creature or object, but the examples suggest that creature targetted version is for dispelling buffs, whereas the object targetted version is for *permanent* magic items, and I can find any example that clarifies this little dilemna. Magic Weapon is effectively just a temporary buff, but it's cast on the weapon, not the PC.
How do you guys think I should rule on this?
- Honorable Judge Forever Man ;^)

![]() |

I'd rule that Magic Weapon would remain in effect.
Object target is object target, permanent effect or not. If the rules suggest that a dispel magic only effects him and not his magic items, then that applies even to a temporarily magic item.
If you want to catch all the spells you have to use an area dispel and take the chance that you're not going to wipe all the spells. It's a risk you have to take.

Jeremy Mac Donald |

I'd rule that Magic Weapon would remain in effect.
Object target is object target, permanent effect or not. If the rules suggest that a dispel magic only effects him and not his magic items, then that applies even to a temporarily magic item.
I'd disagree. The cleric's magic is the source of the bonus to the weapon and it can be dispelled along with things like temporary hit points and buffs to ones armour etc. Note that its the clerics power that decides how long the spell lasts and, in the case of greater magic weapon even how much of a magic boost the weapon has.
If you want to catch all the spells you have to use an area dispel and take the chance that you're not going to wipe all the spells. It's a risk you have to take.The area version only potentially dispels one magical effect on each targeted creature.

Saern |

Sean Achterman wrote:I'd disagree. The cleric's magic is the source of the bonus to the weapon and it can be dispelled along with things like temporary hit points and buffs to ones armour etc. Note that its the clerics power that decides how long the spell lasts and, in the case of greater magic weapon even how much of a magic boost the weapon has.I'd rule that Magic Weapon would remain in effect.
Object target is object target, permanent effect or not. If the rules suggest that a dispel magic only effects him and not his magic items, then that applies even to a temporarily magic item.
I'd just limit the argument to the fact that dispel magic removes buffs to AC applied directly to one's armor, and therefore it applies to temporary buffs to weapons as well. The rules are pretty big on ruling that spells affecting "a person" typically also effect anything "on the person" where applicable, and that something held in hand is "on the person" as well. Yes, this leaves room open for some debate about why it doesn't take out the permanent enchantment as well, but the answer would be "balance" before anything else, with (possibly superflous) attempts at in-game explanations following.
The main thing here is to remember to be consistent with the ruling, and it should be fine.

David VanEvery |
The spell states that
"Targeted Dispel
One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make a dispel check (1d20 + your caster level, maximum +10) against the spell or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature. The DC for this dispel check is 11 + the spell’s caster level. If you succeed on a particular check, that spell is dispelled; if you fail, that spell remains in effect.
If you target an object or creature that is the effect of an ongoing spell (such as a monster summoned by monster summoning), you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature.
If the object that you target is a magic item, you make a dispel check against the item’s caster level. If you succeed, all the item’s magical properties are suppressed for 1d4 rounds, after which the item recovers on its own. A suppressed item becomes nonmagical for the duration of the effect. An interdimensional interface (such as a bag of holding) is temporarily closed. A magic item’s physical properties are unchanged: A suppressed magic sword is still a sword (a masterwork sword, in fact). Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.
You automatically succeed on your dispel check against any spell that you cast yourself."
So, the targetted version would remove all spells from a creature, or remove all spells from an item. It would not do both. Also, for area dispelling: "For each object within the area that is the target of one or more spells, you make dispel checks as with creatures. Magic items are not affected by an area dispel." So the area could remove a magic weapon spell but could not suppress the weapon's innate enchantment. Hope this clears things up.
These are from the SRD (www.d20srd.org)

Vegepygmy |

How do you guys think I should rule on this?
Items in one's possession are generally considered to be part of one's "person." The magic weapon spell should be subject to dispelling. Permanent magic items in the target's possession are unaffected because they (presumably) have no spells currently in effect on them.