
ghettowedge |

Here it is...
Let's say you have someone with a touch spell, say Shocking Grasp, and lands a critical hit. Does the damage from the spell double? I can't seem to find the answer in the books... Maybe I'm just tired...
Ultradan
You're right, it doubles. I don't have it with me right now, but Complete Arcane lays it out pretty explicitly.

Dirk Gently |

Ultradan wrote:You're right, it doubles. I don't have it with me right now, but Complete Arcane lays it out pretty explicitly.Here it is...
Let's say you have someone with a touch spell, say Shocking Grasp, and lands a critical hit. Does the damage from the spell double? I can't seem to find the answer in the books... Maybe I'm just tired...
Ultradan
Huh, I thought you couldn't get criticals with spells. Apparently I was wrong...

![]() |

Well, it's not a huge deal if you never knew about this rule before. In my time playing, this has come up.... never. It's awesome when it does happen, but most mages just don't use touch attack spells enough to get crits.
Just sayin'.
Ranged touch.
Hit with a ray of enfeeblement once for 10 strength because of a crit.Seeking ray. Scorching ray. Improved Critical: Rays is a good idea for a ray using caster.
FH

![]() |

d20srd.org wrote:There you have it.Critical Hits
<snip>Spells and Critical Hits
A spell that requires an attack roll can score a critical hit. A spell attack that requires no attack roll cannot score a critical hit.
Conceptually this makes sense...I always thought a critical strike (in the ambiguous hit point world) as being either a particularly damaging connection or a hit to a particularly sensitive area.
Imagine the Shocking Grasp clinching down on a shoulder compared to releasing all that static charge on the poor saps...personality.

![]() |

One that came up today: If you roll a crit with a grenade-like item or spell thrown at a location, does the damage double?
We ruled that it didn't, because the attack wasn't made on the characters, but it's technically a spell/item that requires an attack roll. I think that's the correct answer, since you aren't making the attack against something that has a discernable anatomy. (Plus a critical hit on the floor is pretty goofy.)

Frats |

Floors are immune to critical hits (since they're objects)
I'd say splash weapons don't deal critical hits, since they're not directed at something in particular; creatures take damage from a grenade because they happen to be there when it explodes, not because they're targeted by the grenade.
If you allow grenades to crit, you should allow Fireballs as well, it's the same basic concept.