
![]() |

I just cast Ray of Exhaustion at something - the target succeeds on his save.
Instead of being Exhausted he's now "fatigued."
In the description of "Fatigued" in the DMG condition modifiers it stipulates that something done that causes fatigue on an already fatigued person makes that person exhausted.
Am i reading this right that I can then cast the spell again the following round and the creature would become exhausted either way - since a successful save causes fatigue (again)?
Thanks
Robert

Jeremy Mac Donald |

I'd say by RAW Ray of Exhaustion stacks to make someone exhausted if they are already fatigued. In fact the part in the spell description that addresses this is presumably made for pretty much this case. How often are victims going to be hit by this spell right after they have been force marching for 16 hours? In all likelihood the only time this comes up is when they are hit by this spell twice.

Jeremy Mac Donald |

That's a very good question. According to the RAW, I would have to say that you're probably right. If it were my call to make, though, I would say that they can't 'stack' just like the penalties from ray of enfeeblement don't. It just seems more fair that way. Being fatigued is bad enough.
ray of enfeeblement does not stack? I can't seem to find a rulling on that in the FAQ or Eratta. Why don't ability penalties stack? Could be a modifier from the same source I guess but I'm not sure this qualifies as I don't think the source counts as 'named'.

Thanis Kartaleon |

Under Combining Magical Effects:
Stacking Effects
Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).

Jeremy Mac Donald |

Under Combining Magical Effects:
SRD wrote:Stacking Effects
Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
OK I'm convinced.

![]() |

Under Combining Magical Effects:
SRD wrote:Stacking Effects
Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
This is absolutely true for the purposes of Ray of Enfeeblement and Touch of Idiocy which impose a "penalty" to an ability score; but for the purposes of Ray of Exhaustion, since it's a condition that essentially being "worsened" into the next category as detailed in the spell's description, this rule doesnt specifically apply to that spell, then? Isn't that the way you read that as well?
Thanks
Robert

Jeremy Mac Donald |

This is absolutely true for the purposes of Ray of Enfeeblement and Touch of Idiocy which impose a "penalty" to an ability score; but for the purposes of Ray of Exhaustion, since it's a condition that essentially being "worsened" into the next category as detailed in the spell's description, this rule doesnt specifically apply to that spell, then? Isn't that the way you read that as well?Thanks
Robert
I think Thanis was responding to me and not the OP. I believe your correct by RAW. As you note its a condition, hence these combining magical effects rules probably don't qualify here and even if they did the spell description trumps them and appears to explicitly state that a character that is already fatigued becomes exhausted. In other words fatigue stacks on fatigue for this spell.

Jeremy Mac Donald |

Makes that spell a nice addition at higher levels where you have slots to burn.
-IO
Possibly - still your likely to spend two rounds to get an enemy to take a -3 to hit, damage, AC, Fortitude and Reflex saves. I'm not sure that would usually be worth it. I suspect your DM could go to town with this however. Anything that weakens the characters sets them up for a big fall but against most enemies of the PCs I have to wonder if this was even worth the trouble - just kill the critter and move on. Really if it was weak enough that a -3 to hit and AC is a big deal then you could probably dispatch it without bothering and if its not that weak then killing it ASAP before it gets lucky and crits with that 10 point power attack on its bite (or claw or tenticle) is probably a better idea.

ZeroCharisma |

Since exhausted also reduces the victim to half movement, it could be instrumental in aiding the PC's in escaping from something horrific. That's part of the beauty of D&D (IMO): There is no "perfect spell" for everything, but every spell is "perfect for something".
I like this spell for NPC casters, and often use it when it makes sense. Obviously I agree that two castings of the spell produce exhaustion, and what's good for the goose (DM) is also good for the gander (PC's) in my reality.