wickedb84's page

11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Actually, the physical figurine is only 2x1 squares, but the book is so damn vague on this subject that our DM has resorted to us calling all "Large creatures" 2x2 and leaving the little guy straddling the intersection.


Giving that while in wild shape a druid, that could normally speak any number of languages can do nothing but make strange animals sounds, I think an animal companion can learn to understand any number of languages but can never hope to speak a single one.


yea "Easy of play" Until you're in a 5ft wide hallway


Sorry for (yet-another) newbie question but I can't get past a logic check here.
Do all large creatures take up 4 squares on a grid? Do you just center then on an intersection?
I suppose for a 10 ft tall massive troll that makes some sense but what about a large wolf? It seems he would make more sense being 10 ft long but only 5 ft wide and 5ft tall.

I've tried referring to the spell area charts in the PFCRB but they really don't work to show the amount of space creatures occupy or worst their reach.

Obviously this works for anything larger than a medium creature, but I can scale the answer to fit :)


Thazar wrote:
wickedb84 wrote:

Holy crap... I dont think I want to point this out to our DM.

We're all pretty new at this but I don't believe he's been throwing this at us since an animal has never taken soo many swipes at us in a single round.
To get this straight what BAB goes with the claw/claw/talon/bite?
6/6/1/1?
Nope. All four of those attacks are primary attacks. So they would attack at +6/+6/+6/+6. Click the link above and look at the chart under natural attacks for figuring out what is primary and secondary.

foreclaws counts as a secondary attack (under other)

so 6/6/6/1...
I guess


Thazar wrote:

And if a character with a weapon somehow gets a natural attack that does not use the same "hand" and their weapons they can attack with that natural attack after the weapon attack at a -5 even at first level. (Such as a barbarian with a Greataxe and a bite attack.)

Does this change at all when their BAB is high enough to warrant 2 attacks?


yeah, I'm looking at that now- How did we miss this?
so a tiger with pounce and rake can: run (pounce), claw, claw, bite and also rake (another 2 claws?)

...Where can I get more gear with damage reduction... I fear we're all going to die


Holy crap... I dont think I want to point this out to our DM.
We're all pretty new at this but I don't believe he's been throwing this at us since an animal has never taken soo many swipes at us in a single round.
To get this straight what BAB goes with the claw/claw/talon/bite?
6/6/1/1?


While trying to figure out the wildshape rules< I came across this in a forum:
"The number of attacks you make while wild shaped depends on the number of natural weapons your shape has. If you wild shape into a Deinonychus, you can make 4 attacks, 1 talon, 2 claws, and 1 bite. If you wild shape into a Constrictor Snake, you can only make 1 attack, a bite."

No one on the forum commented on this- but it can't be right, can it?? it reads as though you could make 4 attacks in a single round.
I mean, most classes have different options for their attacks, that doesn't translate into being able to use all of them.
The only bonus I see to this is having more options for a full round attack.


Awesome- thanks for all the info :)


I know this is probably a dumb questions- but if thats the case it should be an easy answer.
If a druid summons a magical beast (say an owl bear) to attack an incorporeal creature (say a wraith)- will it do damage? I know the book says that an incorporeal creature will take damage from "creatures that strike as magical weapons", but I have no idea what that's referring to. Does the owlbear's natural attack count as a magical attack since it, itself is magical?
What is the druid only summons a standard animal instead of a magical beast? Is the animal considered magical because it has been summoned magically?