seubergirl's page
Organized Play Member. 10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.
|
In my previous party, I played a wizard who learned Braile and so always had one or two scrolls of Daylight she'd crafted in braile so that if she got caught in the dark she could still get off the Daylight. (she also had a few Dispel Magic's in braile)
Of course my GM was nice in allowing Braile as a language... :)
there are, of course, a lot of other options... Blidesight the spell would essentially negate the darkness. If your character can shapeshift / polymorph, then pick a creature that has blidesight/blindsense (etc).
Also there are some classes that offer ways to 'see'... and when worse comes to worst, a really good perception can pinpoint the 5 foot square of the badguy (50% miss chance).
But these are all single-person solutions, not party solutions like countering with light spells (or Dispel Magic).

My wizard is specialized in Necromancy and I recently leveled up to be able to cast 5th level spells... so (yay), I went out an got Magic Jar and wrote it in my spellbook.
our last game night, my wizard actually used the spell (first time I've used it, myself, since my previous wizards didn't cast necro spells... :)
anyway, the spell states:
Quote: Attempting to possess a body is a full-round action. It is blocked by protection from evil or a similar ward. You possess the body and force the creature’s soul into the magic jar unless the subject succeeds on a Will save. Failure to take over the host leaves your life force in the magic jar, and the target automatically succeeds on further saving throws if you attempt to possess its body again. my question is really on the last sentence:
Quote: Failure to take over the host leaves your life force in the magic jar, and the target automatically succeeds on further saving throws if you attempt to possess its body again. Failure by ANY means? ie, because of Protection from Evil? due to SR?
and this spell doesn't mention, like many others, a 24hour restriction... so my DM is thinking, 'Great, she didn't get through my SR, I'm now and forever immune to her casting that spell on this character'
is that true? it seems a bit... um... excessive?
of course, my come back in response to this is that if it is in fact true, then the opposite should also be true: if my wizard succeeds on possessing the body -> the wizard will, in future, automatically succeed on further possessions!
Ravingdork wrote: Quote: + Those are long duration abjurations, right? If so, I'd be careful. You could blow your cover entirely thanks to the following rule:
If one abjuration spell is active within 10 feet of another for 24 hours or more, the magical fields interfere with each other and create barely visible energy fluctuations. The DC to find such spells with the Perception skill drops by 4.
Wow! that's good to know.... thx. :) and yes, MPS is a 24 hour long spell. (oooh and so is my non-detection, hmmm)
it definetly reminded me of a discussion my group had years ago about casting a rope trick inside a rope trick... or even using a bag of holding inside a rope trick (accessing interdimensional space inside an interdimensional space? boggles the mind...) my DM eventually made a house rule that you couldn't do it...
But the description of Mage's Private Sanctum does not indicate that you're creating a seperate space, I read it as more like you're creating an area that is under a protection spell.... (and since there's no alignment associated with the spell there's no possibility of 'countering' the effects - like if you cast a Magic Circle of Protection against Good on top of MCoProtion against Evil). You're not creating an area on another plane... it's all on the material plane.
(but of course, if my DM does not allow for this, it makes his job easier, because then he can spy on us... if he does allow it, then we have a safe zone, and we might last longer in our undercover roles....)
I'm playing a mage and my party and I are undercover in a hostile environment. I wanted to cast Mage's Private Sanctum over our living quarters, but the DM mentioned that the house we are staying in has the same spell cast over it's entirety... by the house's owners.
so... can Mage's Private Sanctum be cast inside another (by a different caster) casting of the spell?
Drejk wrote:
Quote: - skills work a bit differently: maximum number of ranks in skill is equal to level, not level +3. All skill ranks cost 1 point, class or out of class, no more spending 1/2 ranks. the only thing I'd add (which is stated in the intro of the skill section in the book), class skill points: once you put a rank in 'em you gain a +3 bonus to your skill (being that it's a class skill)... that's the difference between Class and Non-Class skills, since they now both cost the same number of ranks.... (but note this +3 bonus only occurs the first time you put a rank into the skill (so multi-class characters with a skill that is a class skill for both of it's classes don't get a +6 (ie, the +3 dosn't stack!)) :)
ooh, Leadership - that could work for the future, but it'll be quite some time before my character goes up another level where she can get any feat....
but he might allow for the 3.5 version... or it could beef up my argument that my Ghast should be higher HD....
thanks!
my 5th level (Necromancer) Wizard went out and bought a scroll of Create Undead at 12th level, made a caster level check and created a Ghast.
So, looking in the Beastiary, under Ghoul / Ghast, the Ghast is a slightly beefed up version of the Ghoul.... But, it would still be a 2HD creature, right?
When looking at all four types of undead that Create Undead can make, the first two are 2D, the third (mummy) is 8HD, and the fourth (morgh) is 14HD!
I tried to convince my GM to split the difference and make my Ghast a 4HD creature, but he said "No". If there's something offical out there that I haven't yet been able to find, he'll accept that... else I'm stuck with a very costly 2HD creature.... :)
So, does anyone know if there were any updates to indicate that a Ghast created has a higher HD?
thanks for any info....
Hey, greate info / suggestions...
I'll have to pick up an Infernal Healing scroll somewhere to write in my spellbook... :) (thanks Harley)
Scott - good Idea, I had thought about modifying Chill Touch (since it is negative energy), but variants of Animate Dead (and Lesser) on already undead to cure 'em could work also...
Ashiel - I'll take a look at these... My DM will allow for homebrewed / modified / PC created spells (with his vetting, of course :)... and you're right... limited wish & wish are totally viable, however they are a bit costly to cast... ;)
I'm currently playing a 9th level Wizard that is specialized in Necromancy, and she's just acquired a Ghast as a pet. She doesn't want it to be destroyed too quickly.
So I'm trying to find spells that the wizard can cast that would heal undead... and have not been able to find any (Enervation gives temp HP.... but doesn't cure)...
Does anyone know of any Sor/Wiz spells that cure/heal Undead?
[btw, my DM is currently only allows PF books, no others...]
So far, the only spells I've found were Inflict(s), which are cleric only and my party doesn't have a cleric (only a druid - who probably wouldn't help my undead anyway since he has "morals" (sheesh! :) ))
is it just me, or does it seem wrong that wizards can create, deal damage and destroy undead, but not be able to heal 'em?
Even Chill Touch specifically states that it causes Undead to flee (if save fails), vs. allowing the Negative Energy to cure it.... (grr).
thanks,
seubergirl
|