phyrespike's page

2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Twilight Imperium has good ships. The game is not cheap, but if you know someone who owns the game, they'd probably let you borrow them for sessions as needed. You may also be able to buy mini resupplies from fantasy flight games, not sure.

Came across this thread while searching for an answer to what is probably a dumb question.

When I decide to use my studied strike, to get that extra Xd6 benefit, does the studied strike itself get the 1/2 Investigator level insight bonus on damage?

For example, if my 4th level investigator hits a guy with my rapier, and that initial damage is 1d6 + STR + Studied Combat insight bonus, and then I use studied strike, is my studied strike damage equal to 1d6 + Studied Combat insight bonus or is just a single 1d6? I'm assuming the latter, but the wording on the rules is just ambiguous enough that I though I should check. Rules on the insight bonus are - in part, with emphasis added - :

At 4th level, an investigator can use a move action to study a single enemy that he can see. Upon doing so, he adds 1/2 his investigator level as an insight bonus on melee attack rolls and as a bonus on damage rolls against the creature. This effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to his Intelligence modifier (minimum 1) or until he deals damage with a studied strike, whichever comes first.

I guess I'm not clear as to whether the studied strike is one of those said damage rolls. Help?? Thank you!