Goblin

ninquark's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. 2 wishlists.


RSS


Paizo wrote:

When you make your Stealth check, those creatures that didn't succeed at the opposed roll treat you as invisible until the start of your next action or until the end of your turn if you do not end your turn with cover or concealment

-and-

Sniping: If you already are invisible to a target and you are 10 feet from that target, as a standard action, you can make one ranged attack against that target and immediately make an opposed Stealth check to stay invisible. You take a –20 penalty on your Stealth check when attempting to snipe.

Questions and comments concerning Stealth and Sniping.

In my current game I portray a level 4 Goblin Ranger with +20 Stealth (+17 at 1st level). As a result, since I only get 1 attack a round at this level anyway, Sniping has been a favorite and moderately effective tactic for me.

With the proposed ruleset here, I think this is how it would work if I attempted Sniping:

1.) I Stealth behind cover of a wall, out of view of our enemies.
2.) I take a Move Action to see a Human Guard. He cannot see me because the Stealth check rendered me effectively "invisible".
3.) Let loose an arrow, catching the guard Flat-Footed.
4.) I make a Sniping check [1d20+20-20]. If failure, I'm visible to the subject I attacked (but "invisible" to all others). If successful, I remain "invisible" for now.
5.) Since I used my Move Action and my Standard Action to Snipe, at the end of my Turn my "invisible" status no longer applies and I am now in full view, no longer stealthed.

- If instead I was able to make my attack from behind a Low Obstacle (Core Rulebook p.195), I would end my turn behind Cover, and so remain "invisible" if I made my Sniping check.

Is my understanding correct?

Additional question regarding a Minor Cloak of Displacement (Core Rulebook p. 507). Defined as follows: This item appears to be a normal cloak, but when worn by a character, its magical properties distort and warp light waves. This displacement works similar to the blur spell, granting a 20% miss chance on attacks against the wearer. It functions continually.

According to the blur spell (Core Rulebook p. 251): This distortion grants the subject concealment (20% miss chance).

Does this mean that if my Goblin Ranger is wearing a Minor Cloak of Displacement -or- is under the effects of a Blur spell, since it grants concealment I am able to make a Stealth check at any time?