Friendly Fighter

nathan blackmer's page

Organized Play Member. 1,199 posts (1,303 including aliases). 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 14 aliases.

Full Name

Nathan Gordon Blackmer




oh I dunno, maybe Fighter 3 Bard 1 Smartass 1 (it's a prestige class)


Male. Emphatically!




27 (Annually updated on July 17th since 1983)

Special Abilities

Boxing, Fencing, Writing.


Nuetral Good. The "right" thing, all the time.


None, thanks.




English, Drunkanese, Smartassian.



Strength 12
Dexterity 14
Constitution 18
Intelligence 10
Wisdom 12
Charisma 13

About nathan blackmer

A brief summary of Nathan Gordon Blackmer, Age 27, Caucasian Male.

I was born in a little town called Londonderry, in southern Vermont. My father was a hippy, my mother was a drug addict/biker. Clearly niether was ideally suited for parenting, so I and my older sister were raised mostly by my grandparents. He'd been a farmer, then a mechanic, then a laborer. She was more or less married off at a young age to him, and luckily things worked out.

We're of Irish, German, and Franch Canadian Indian Stock. I grew up poor (we were trailer trash) but thanks to my fathers influence I was fascinated with reading and with video games.

I remember being too little to actually read, and I always looked at two books in particular - a book on dinosaurs and this odd hardbound book with a picture with trees, a centaur and a red dragon standing on the grass, and below ground an enormous purple worm fighting with a bunch of tiny people. I took the book to school with me, and (previously having a difficult time learning to read) the teachers were quick to jump on it. So it was that I learned to read off the old monster manual.

It wasn't much longer (maybe the third grade?) that my pestering convinced my parents to pick me up a Dungeons and Dragons Starter Set.

I grew up doing combat sports. I spent a great deal of time boxing, doing tae kwon do and Savate. When I started high school a friend got me into fencing, starting a new life long addiction.

I'll try to fast forward a bit, I'm sure it's dragging on;

I went to College for one girl, and left for another.
I moved home after things didn't work out, moved away with another girl, and became a licensed Massage Therapist.
Things weren't working out, so in a sudden burst of...(patriotism?) I moved home for a few months while waiting for my chance to join the Air Force.
I got through basic, and was assigned to Maxwell Air Force Base. I took pitty on a young girl who's family was near Maxwell and traded her for Grand Forks ND.
Three weeks after arriving in Grand Forks I was diagnosed with cancer. Three years later I kicked it's ass.
Along the way, a girl that I play Pathfinder with introduced me to my fiance, who I convinced to throw caution to the wind and move cross country and transfer schools to be with me. She's got brown hair past her shapely rear, she's a percussionist music major with a smooth, jazzy voice. She's incredible.

Those are the cliff's notes.

I like Fantasy, Science Fiction. I'm a big Marvel Comics fan. I love lightning storms, fighting, and singing at the top of my lungs (a fate worse then death, I'm not much of a singer). I'm happy go lucky. I'm a centrist politically, but a little more left leaning then not.

If there's anything else you want to know, ask. I'm an open book. That's why I use my real name for my handle.

Oh, I had my ass kicked by an automated bathroom when I was 15 or 16. It's a good story, but it takes a bit and I'm running out of time right now.