Kolyarut

monochromaticPrism's page

21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




The relevant portion of the Text:

"You make yourself – including clothing, armor, weapons, and equipment – look different. You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller, thin, fat, or in between. You cannot change your creature type (although you can appear as another subtype). Otherwise, the extent of the apparent change is up to you. You could add or obscure a minor feature or look like an entirely different person or gender."

My reading of this is that you can select a creature subtype that is in the small to medium size range (assuming their max/min height range overlaps with your height +/- 1 foot), and as that creature you can appear as either one that looks similar to yourself or as a completely different individual.

From my reading there don't appear to be any limitations on the natural characteristics of the subtype selected, as the only limiting phrases are "You cannot change your creature type" and "You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller".

However when looking this spell up many people seem to insist that you can only create permutations based on your physical form (referencing the +/- 1 foot limitation I assume), stating that final shape too different from your own is apparently outside of the spell's scope. However, this limitation would immediately remove many races from being able to use this spell or being targets for the use of this spell. It would also clash with entities like Medusa being designed to disguise their snake hair using their sla Disguise Self castings to pass as a normal humanoid.

Since this isn't directly stated I want to know if there is an Official limitation, and if so where the line is drawn (on a scale going sharp teeth, claws, tentacle arms, tails, extra arms, wings, etc ideally), or whether this limitation is just a result of being how the spell is "generally" run but not an actual hard requirement.


I’m certain this has been answered before, but for the life of me I haven’t been able to track it down. Do features that allow a player to modify their body persist after a possession / mind swap / magic jar spell ends?

I began wondering about this due to the Toxicant feature “Toxic Secretion”. The Toxicant can brew a potion which modifies their body and causes them to permanently excrete a poison, which they are immune to, with effects and dc based on the Alchemist’s level and feature selections at the time of ingestion.

The second feature is the Eternal Potion discovery, which makes a potion effect permanent for an alchemist that consumes it. Since alchemists don’t have actual spellcasting, but instead have their features occur through alchemy affecting their body and/or creating spell effect, is the potion effect attached to the alchemist’s soul or their physical body at time of potion consumption?

My third question would be about a Cyclopian Seer using flash of insight while in another creature’s body while drinking Strange Fluids in order to trigger the extraordinary outcomes (100 on the d100).

When looking up other discussions about Possession and buffs, a lot of people mention physical spells/effect staying with the body and mental spells/effects staying with the soul/mind, but there weren’t any references given.

My primary question is whether or not there is a rule/faq for features that can be used to permanently modify the body followed by the origin feature being lost.

If not, my next question would be how the above should be ruled based on normal rules.


I've gone around in circles with this and can't seem to resolve this question.

If an alchemist converts an infused poison from ingested to injury, how does that interact with sticky poison? My main question is about RAW as, logically, one might expect it to be expended in an activated magic item based off potions would intuitively be single use with all future sticky poison strikes purely using the base poison, however I can't find a specific rule stating that. Instead, the language used seems to indicate that the spell effect is added to the fundamental properties of the poison, with poison immunity preventing the spell effect from taking place. This of course would be a very powerful combination with sticky poisons and even a basic damaging spell like Inflict Light Wounds, much less more creative spell selections.


RAW question. I have spend a bit looking and can’t find the answer.

I know the reason you can’t interfere with enemy magic items is, at least in part, because this is the first time you have ever come across that particular item and so you don’t know the details of it’s use, but I don’t know if there is another detail that prevents interaction with allies.

Example: If my ally is down and unconscious wearing a magic item that casts a cure spell on the wearer, can I spend my action to touch the item and activate it if I was familiar with how it functions? Would I need to touch it if it was command word activated and I they had shared the word with me? Would my ally being conscious alter either of these?

Any help would be much appreciated.


The theoretical setup: The party finds a +4 total enchantment level weapon, but its exotic and no one has proficiency. Putting the Training weapon enchantment on it with Exotic Weapon Proficiency would represent a significant investment. Instead, the party problem solves to instead enchant the fighter's shield as a weapon for 6k.

Training: Popular among those who seek to impersonate skilled warriors, a training weapon grants one combat feat to the wielder as long as the weapon is drawn and in hand. The feat is chosen when this special ability is placed on the weapon. That feat cannot be used as a prerequisite for any other feats and functions for the wielder only if she meets its prerequisites. Once chosen, the feat stored in the weapon cannot be changed.

Specifically I am focusing on how Training "grants one combat feat to the wielder as long as the weapon is drawn and in hand", which seems to indicate that as long as the wielder is capable of performing a slam attack, it should work.

Does it work or have I missed something? I have looked around but haven't found an answer to this specifically.