So we know from Jason that you can't stack Demoralize on a target twice to cause a frightened condition. However is it possible to apply a different fear effect to a Demoralized target to shift it to frightened.
An example being, using demoralize to cause a target to become shaken then using the Sword Saint's(DEP) Terrifying Iaijutsu? As the ability doesn't reference to using an form of intimidation would it stack in the same manner as if fear where cast on a demoralized target?
Terrifying Iaijutsu (Ex): At 5th level, a sword saint’s iaijutsu strike devastates the morale of foes that witness it. When a sword saint successfully hits with an iaijutsu strike, all foes within 30 feet must succeed at a Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 the sword saint’s class level + the sword saint’s Cha modifier) or become shaken for 1d4+1 rounds.
I see your point with the Druid spell list there are however for alchemists some discoveries my example here being "Alchemical Zombie" that deals with undead specifically in the class and gives them the ability to animate dead so the class is already in someway augment-able to deal with negative energy.
I've played a number of Alchemists across the last 2 years playing in PFS and in other adventure paths outside of society play and I've come across a few problems with Alchemists in certain situations.
While I think it's a slightly less common problem that people would imagine I've found myself a number of times sitting around with extracts in hand and having taking the infusion discovery had someone of the oh please god don't cast cure spells on me persuasion.
Is it possible to get Inflicts and spells like Infernal healing added to the Alchemists spell list or is there any specific design point that runs against that sort of change?
As things are it next to rules alchemist out for anything that requires negative energy to heal. Or at least takes away an important utility the class choice provides for any of those characters.
Going to start by saying i know there is another Cleave & Trip thread however this is different because it is addressing a different matter.
The possibility of using Cleave to gain multiple trip free actions from attacks made with Bite on animals such as Wolves etc.
Trip (Ex) A creature with the trip special attack can
attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without
provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the
specified attack. If the attempt fails, the creature is not
tripped in return.
The trip description from the Bestiary above indicates that the free action trip occurs if the specified attack hits. If the action taken was a Cleave attack would each hit opponent suffer a free action trip follow up?
And as such use the rest of the Cleave tree to make as many free action trip attempts as you can Cleave with the appropriate Cleave feats; Great Cleave, Cleaving finish etc.
I wasn't meaning as to reduce it that far, down to appropriate levels for when you get haste yourself as an alchemist or when others gain access to like 6th was what i was more thinking as an appropriate level though i do see your point with the using a lot of them.
An alternate question thats come up from reading this is prior to 8th level and multiple BAB attacks, could as a full round action a grenadier with the Alchemical Weapon class feature shoot an arrow that has a bomb on it and use rapidshot etc to fire a second shot?
It's been bugging me for a little time now playing an Alchemist in Society and in general pathfinder play with the Discovery for the Alchemist called Fast Bombs which allows the alchemist to throw multiple bombs in a single round. It reads as follows.
Fast bombs: An alchemist with this discovery can
quickly create enough bombs to throw more than one
in a single round. The alchemist can prepare and throw
additional bombs as a full-round action if his base
attack bonus is high enough to grant him additional
attacks. This functions just like a full-attack with a
ranged weapon. An alchemist must be at least 8th level
before selecting this discovery.
Alchemist's don't gain their 6th BAB and second attack until they hit 8th level and the discovery has been limited to 8th level or higher characters. However there are a number of situations where alchemists could be able to make an additional attack if they had the discovery prior to 8th levels, most commonly Haste for Wizards at 5th level, Sorcerer's at 6th or Cleric's Blessing of Fervor at 5th level.
Often playing an alchemist while you have other weapons at your disposal that you can use and that benefit from those above I often find myself feeling almost as if it's useless to even be given the buff as if you are a bomb focused alchemist a lot of the feats which may increase your damage from other ranged sources don't apply to bombs and without the Discovery you can't make the addition attack. Mean while nearly all of the other classes get to benefit from the spell.
I understand that making the prerequisite be level 8 so that it's always useful and people don't take it at a lower level and feel like they can't use it or take it for newer people and having them think it allows them an extra attack before they actually can.
All being said has anyone else felt the same way as an alchemist or feels there is a need to either change the required level or have an addition to the rules for Haste and other spells like it or are things fine the way they are?
I was never asking if a Ninja could take the following:
2nd Level Ninja
Ninja Trick used to gain Combat Trick.
4th Level Ninja
Ninja Trick used to gain Rogue Talent then used to gain Combat Trick.
This is NOT the question at any stage.
The question has always been can a Ninja take the following:
2nd Level Ninja
Ninja Trick used to gain Combat Trick
10th Level Ninja
Master Ticks used to gain Advanced Rogue Talent then used to gain Feat.
Note that I said at 10th level when Ninja's gain access to the Advanced Rogue Talents as well. Admittedly in the second post I unintentionally omitted the "Advanced" part.
Please I need help from any VC's with this one I'm also emailing my areas VC to get his feedback on this one.
Situation Description from First Steps Part 2:
I have a situation where in First Steps II a party of players befriended Maurit and allowed him to accompany them in exchange for all of the details she can provide. They then proceeded to go after the kelish writings and the following room triggering the blindheim combat.
This put the PC's in a situation where all level 1's where versing 2 CR 2 combats simultaneously.
The PC in question proceeded to play through the combat until the point where everyone had failed their fortitude saves and where blinded, 2 characters where unconscious and either stable or bleeding out and the creature although his character was blind threatened his square.
He proceeded to post this comment: "Guys I'm not going to bother to do this. Its getting to be absolute b%@~&+*~ so Idc if I get credit or not."
And left the table (This is an online game for transparency sake).
At this point in time no combats had been completed or anything in regards to that.
I do not know if he left out of self preservation well knowing what he was doing or if he left because he had an issue with me and how I was running it.
I've looked for the exact wording in the Organized play pdf several times for when a player leaves the table what happens to their Character. I also spoke to some of the other GM's who where available at the same time and not a part of the scenario to get the least biased opinion possible at the time. Coming to the conclusion if a PC leaves the table while in an active combat their character becomes an NPC who tries their best to leave combat. Before his character's next turn he was incapacitated after triggering an AoO from his readied action he had made before he left the table.
He had a readied action to shoot anything that attacked him with his musket. The monster having no other threatening targets in the room the others all already having fully withdraw from the fight attacked the PC triggering his readied action when then provoked an AoO rendering the PC unconscious. Please not here that this is what the character was going to do before the player left the table.
I as a DM am then put in a situation where there are 3 unconscious/stable or bleeding out characters and nothing else for the creature to attack as the others have completely high tailed it. 2 of these players remaining at the table and the PC who had left. I assigned each character an equal opportunity of being the first target that would be killed by the monster and the result of the roll was the PC who had left the table.
I did this because there where 3 characters that could be attack and so as not to be biased left it completely to chance and that first person who was killed was the PC who had left. I believe that this was the only truly fair way to determine who was attacked.
The monster then managed to drag off and between bleeding out from failing stabilization rolls and being attack further 1 of the PC's out of the 2 remaining at the table was killed as well.
I want to make sure I am doing write by all of the players involved both remaining and the 1 that left the table.
I can not say whether or not he left intending for his character to be removed from play if that is the ruling for a player leaving to avoid his character possibly dieing or if he took issue with my GM'ing of the scenario and as such would appreciate a or multiple VC's input as to the outcome of this situation.
Without question the PC who left recieves no xp/fame/gold and has the First Steps Part II marked off as being played for that character. On a side note I will not be allowing the player to participate in any further scenarios that I GM unless at any organized paizo event or other special circumstances where my personal opinion of the matter should be shelved for the betterment of paizo's and or Organized Play's public image.
However in addition to the above should the Character be marked and reported as being killed?
I personally believe yes, because the player deliberately took an action that harmed his allies whom he knew where already in trouble and contributed to the death of one of the remaining PC's.
I do want to be fair and be sure of my decision before I actually make it and report it. So if there is any further information required please inform me and I will provide it otherwise please can you help me out with this dilemma?
That's exactly how I perceived it to work I just needed confirmation.
I'm making an Aasimar Beastmorph/Vivisectionist taking the Metallic Wing line of feats for Aasimar and going a natural weapon fighter.
Does anyone have any recommended combat orientated feats?
Also when under the effects of Feral Mutagen you are proficient with both Claws and Teeth as natural weapons does this mean I can take a Weapon Focus (Claws) feat and it only work under the same circumstances as the Magic Fang?
I have a couple of questions in regards to the Alchemists Feral Mutagen.
Firstly I would like to make it clear that I am aware that Permanency has no effect on how long the claws and bite remain from Feral Mutagen. I am also aware that Magic Fang only affects 1 claw, bite or other natural attack.
That being known I wish to ask if it is possible to use a Permanency spell on Magic Fang that is affecting claws or bite obtained by the use of an Alchemists Feral Mutagen.
Also what side effects happen when the Alchemist loses his Claws and Bite from the Feral Mutagen expiring and then again when he regains them by drinking another. Does the Magic Fang spell which has been made Permanent through the use of Permanency persist through the loss and regaining of his claws and bite?
Please I need a lot of help on this one as I think it's a complex situation because it involves so many variables.
It's not the same name it's a completely different name and under the Rogue Talent, Advanced Talents section it notes the Advanced Rogue Talent: Feat.
Rogue Talent: The ninja can select a rogue talent in place
of a ninja trick. The ninja cannot select a rogue talent that
has the same name as a ninja trick. The ninja can select
this talent multiple times.
Rogue Talents: As a rogue gains experience, she learns
a number of talents that aid her and confound her foes.
Starting at 2nd level, a rogue gains one rogue talent. She
gains an additional rogue talent for every 2 levels of rogue
attained after 2nd level. A rogue cannot select an individual
talent more than once.
Combat Trick: A rogue that selects this talent gains a bonus combat feat (see Chapter 5).
- Note this is a Normal Rogue Talent
Advanced Talents: At 10th level, and every two levels thereafter, a rogue can choose one of the following advanced talents in place of a rogue talent.
Feat: A rogue may gain any feat that she qualifies for in place of a rogue talent.
- Note this is an Advanced Talent
They have completely different names and are both available to be taken by a level 10 rogue.
Once again I just want to make it clear for those of you who may just read the topic and reply instantly. I am NOT! trying to take Ninja Trick: Combat Trick & Rogue Talent: Combat Trick.
I am questioning taking Ninja Trick: Combat Trick & Ninja Trick: Rogue Talent - Feat.
Here's what is in question. Is it possible for a Ninja to take Combat Trick to gain a Combat Feat and then use Rogue Talent to gain another Feat.
The part that is in question is not if the Ninja could take Combat Trick twice but is if the Ninja is level 10 does it gain access to the advanced talents and as such the Rogue Talent: Feat from the Advanced Talent Listing.
The core rulebook stipulates that at 10th level or above any of the advanced talents can be taken instead of a rogue talent, does this bleed through to a Ninja using Ninja Trick: Rogue Talent to gain access tot he Rogue list.
This gives access to any feat not just a combat feat as Combat Trick does.