DM_Blake wrote:
OK, I know there is no "tumble" (but page 193 of the core book still calls it "tumbling").
It's an Acrobatics check to move through a threatened space. The rulebook says:
Paizo Core Rules, Acrobatics, page 87 wrote:
In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics.
Well, you can always move through a threatened space, though without using acrobatics or some other trick, it will often be painful when you do. But, after the enemy takes their AoOs at you, you usually get wherever you are going.
So without Acrobatics, you can move through a threatened space but it provokes an AoO. Therefore I interpret the Acrobatics rule to mean that you can still move through a threatened space but if you make a successful roll, you won't provoke. If you fail the roll, it's just like not having acrobatics: you move through the space and you provoke the AoOs like normal.
But then, what about moving through an enemy's space? Now the roll is just harder by +5 with no other rules presented, so the same interpretation seems to apply. Make the Acrobatics roll and you move through the enemy's space, fail the roll and you move through the enemy's space but you provoke an AoO.
******************************************************************
But this seems to contradict the movement rule on page 193 that says:
Paizo Core Rules, Moving Through a Square, page 193 wrote:
You can’t move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares."
OK, lower on the page it says:
Paizo Core Rules, Moving Through a Square, page 193 wrote:
Tumbling: A trained character can attempt to use Acrobatics to move through a square occupied by an opponent
...
My interpretation is that one cannot "move" into an enemy's square. However, one can attempt to use acrobatics to pass through an enemy's square. A failed attempt means you do not enter the opponent's square and end up in the square adjacent to the enemy that you previously occupied. Also, you cannot end up in an occupied square even if your max movement would force you to end in that square (acrobatics or not): pass through, or stop in the square before. This interpretation is based on the text in the 3.5 edition books, and I don't imagine that it has changed under the Pathfinder Ruleset.
edit: Just read your post. Thought I would post a simplified version using your example. The fighters that failed their acrobats check bounce off the blocker and end in the square in front of them (AND provoke an attack of opportunity, I believe). Not a good gamble if your acrobatics DC isn't that good.