![]() ![]()
So, let me make sure I've got this clear. A big cats Natural Armour bonus at 7th level is +4 (Animal Companion Base Statistics table level 7), +1 (Big Cat Starting Statistics) +2 (Big Cat 7th Level Advancement)for a total of +7 Natural Armour Bonus? Or is the +2 Natural Armour Bonus under 7th Level Advancement replace the +1 from the Starting Statistics block for a total of +6 NA? ![]()
Sorry I should have been more clear, I knew the environmental rules and know how it would work against building etc but the character wants to use them against opponents during combat. This what I've come up with after looking at all the great advice. A hit with the lit arrow will do plus one damage and the opponent has to make a reflex save DC13 or catch fire as per the environmental rules. It takes a move action to light preprepared arrows and , of course a standard action to fire it. The reason the reflex DC is 13 and not 15 is because combat is abstract and each "hit" with an arrow doesn't mean the opponent now has an arrow sticking in him, each hit in combat, no matter how many hit points it does is only a nick or scratch until the hit that is the fatal blow (or massive damage if using that option. Given that a small, lit arrow head nicking a combatant on it's way past is not as likely to light someone on fire as a flask of burning oil or alchemist fire. I think this balances things okay with the bonus being +1 damage and the penalty that it requires a move action when, and correct me if I'm wrong, loading an arrow from a quiver normally doesn't require a move action. I'll give it a go this next session and see how it goes, I may need to increase the damage to +2. Thanks to everyone for the advice, it really helped. ![]()
SkyHaussmann wrote:
That clears it up perfectly, thanks very much. ![]()
SkyHaussmann wrote:
Yes I seen that table but wasn't quite sure what to make of it. So your saying the type of attack (claw, bite, hoof etc..) determines whether or not it's a primary or secondary. I thought it may change from creature to creature. That make things much easier. So the grizzly gets three attacks in a standard action, correct? Why isn't that table in the Bestiary or Cor Rulebook? or is it?![]()
kyrt-ryder wrote:
So the description will say there is a -5 BAB and that's how you tell it's a secondary or are you saying the -5 is already add in to secondary attacks? And the grizzly's 2 claw and bite are both primary so I roll all three in a round as a standard action and they are all at the full BAB? Or is it only a standard action when using only the 2 claws and a full attack action to use all three?![]()
when reading the monster description in the Bestiary how can I tell which natural attacks are the primary and which are the secondary? For example: the entry for melee attacks for the grizzly bear reads: 2 claws +7 (1d6+5 plus grab), bite +7 (1d6+5). Does that mean that the 2 claws are primary attacks and so at the full BAB and the bite is a secondary attack and so at the BAB -5 or are all three primary attacks (2 claws and a bite. Just for clarification I do know that the 2 claws entry is 2 separate claw attack both at the full BAB. |