|72 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 3 people marked this as a favorite.|
I've seen a question pop up in a few threads about whether weapons "treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction" (e.g., a Monk's Unarmed Strikes at 4th level, the Natural Attacks of a Monster with DR/Magic, the Eldritch Claws feat, non-magical ammunition fired from a magical projectile weapon, etc.) can, without any other effect or augmentation, cause damage to creatures with the Incorporeal condition.
Creatures with the incorporeal condition do not have a physical body. Incorporeal creatures are immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects. Incorporeal creatures take full damage from other incorporeal creatures and effects, as well as all force effects.
I believe the pure, "words on the page" reading is that weapons treated as magic for the purpose of DR should not be able to harm incorporeal creatures. It seems a little strange that a Glabrezu wouldn't be able to harm a Shadow with any of its weapons, but a straight reading does certainly say that. I think a lot of people have feeling and probably always assumed that weapons treated as magic for DR should work, so it seems like a possibly common misunderstanding.
Are weapons which are treated as magic for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction capable of injuring an incorporeal creature?
I was unable to find a definitive answer on this, so perhaps my google-fu has failed me. If there's a clear developer answer, please enlighten me. Otherwise, is this simply a common misunderstanding that most people have simply overlooked or is it FAQ-worthy?