dicehound's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for the answers, all. This question is mostly because summoning becomes highly exploitable on planes with the Timeless quality (see Create Greater Demiplane), since summons last forever there. So you could start a magic item selling business by just summoning a whole bunch of creatures in a private demiplane and selling their items. (God help you if someone dispels the demiplane or something though.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

When you summon a monster (e.g. using Summon Monster), and its statblock lists magical weapons or other equipment, does it get summoned with that equipment?

For example, if I cast Summon Monster V, I can summon a Bralani Azata. The statblock for it lists a +1 scimitar and +1 composite longbow.

Do those come included with the summon? Can I order the Azata to give me its weapons so I can use them instead? If I can summon it for long enough, can I go off and sell said weapons to someone before they disappear?

Text of Summon Monster I for reference:

Summon Monster I wrote:


This spell summons an extraplanar creature (typically an outsider, elemental, or magical beast native to another plane). It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. The spell conjures one of the creatures from the 1st Level list on Table: Summon Monster. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can choose a different one each time you cast the spell.

A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components (such as wish).

When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type. Creatures on Table: Summon Monster marked with an “*” are summoned with the celestial template, if you are good, and the fiendish template, if you are evil. If you are neutral, you may choose which template to apply to the creature. Creatures marked with an “*” always have an alignment that matches yours, regardless of their usual alignment. Summoning these creatures makes the summoning spell’s type match your alignment.

The summon monster spells have numerous entries representing creatures that are summoned from the Outer Planes, and thus have the celestial or fiendish template or can be summoned with the entropic or resolute template (Pathfinder RPG Bestiary 2, pages 292 and 293, respectively).


Quote:

Rags to Riches

School transmutation; Level alchemist 3, bard 3, cleric 4, medium 3, occultist 3, sorcerer/wizard 4, witch 4

CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a bit of burlap wrapped over a copper coin)

EFFECT

Range touch
Target 1 weapon, suit or armor, shield, tool, or skill kit touched/5 levels
Duration 10 minutes/level
Saving Throw Fort negates (object); Spell Resistance no

DESCRIPTION

The target object is enhanced to function as a masterwork item.

In addition to any bonuses for the masterwork quality, the object gains other bonuses. Skill kits and other equipment add an additional +1 insight bonus for every 4 caster levels you possess to skill checks made with them that already receive a bonus from the skill kit. Armor and weapons gain temporary hit points equal to your caster level. If the object already has an enhancement bonus, this bonus increases by 1. If the object of the spell has hardness, that hardness increases by 5.

Can Rags to Riches increase the enhancement bonus of an object (such as a magical weapon) beyond 5? If not, what rule rules it out?

Thanks!


Thanks for the answers yall!

Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Just note that the Ironskin spell grants a ridiculously high AC bonus, is not PFS legal, and I believe was intended to be exclusive to the Duergar, so personally I'd say you can't cast it even if you do have skin...

This is for a theorycraft build and is being cast using Limited Wish, so hopefully that's not an issue.


Hi, quick question: can I cast Ironskin if I don't have skin? For example, if I'm a skeleton or a construct. The spell says "Your skin hardens and takes on the color and texture of rough iron" - is that flavor or legally binding?
Thanks!


Hi folks, question about the monk (specifically unchained monk though I imagine it applies more generally).

The unchained monk's "Bonus Feat" feature states:

Unchained Monk Bonus Feat wrote:

At 1st level, 2nd level, and every 4 levels thereafter, a monk can select a bonus feat. These feats must be taken from the following list:

Catch Off-Guard, Combat Reflexes, Deflect Arrows, Dodge, Improved Grapple, Scorpion Style, and Throw Anything.

At 6th level, the following feats are added to the list:

Gorgon’s Fist, Improved Bull Rush, Improved Disarm, Improved Feint, Improved Trip, and Mobility.

At 10th level, the following feats are added to the list:

Improved Critical, Medusa’s Wrath, Snatch Arrows, and Spring Attack.

A monk need not have any of the prerequisites normally required for these feats to select them.

One big advantage of this feature is that it allows you to take some really great feats without needing to take their less-than-great prerequisites. For example, at level 10, you can take Medusa's Wrath without needing to invest into Scorpion Style and Gorgon's Fist.

My question is this: can you take the feats from this list in your normal feat slots without taking their prerequisites?

For example, let's say my monk takes Medusa's Wrath at level 10. When he levels up to 11, he wants to take Spring Attack, but he does not have the prerequisites (e.g. Dodge and Mobility). Can he take it now? Or need he wait until level 14, and take it as his next monk bonus feat?
In other words, when the feature says "A monk need not have any of the prerequisites normally required for these feats to select them." - does "to select them" mean selecting them in general, or specifically as a monk bonus feat?

Thanks!