densetsu_hoshi's page

Goblin Squad Member. Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.


RSS


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ok I see where you're coming from. Makes sense. I might have gimped my encounter but that's fine, would have resulted in a TPK otherwise.

Thanks everyone for your input.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ok, so what I'm getting is even though i activated levitate before I could 5-ft step over the pit but I would need to spend a move action to not fall in? Or would I instantly begin falling and levitate would not keep me at my current height and thus suffer falling damage?

If the latter then how is that different from someone casting levitate on a person and pushing that person over a cliff. Do they fall or do they float? I mean theoretically they could levitate 1/2 mm above the floor as a move action and be basically touching the floor for movement purposes but still be levitating, right?

Also Avatar-1, I don't see anyplace in the spell description that says levitate breaks when moving over a pit. Could you point out where it says that happens?

Sorry not trying to game the system (in fact I ruled that the creature needed to take a move action to move over the pit) just want to figure out how the rules actually work as RAW.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

SLA. Didn't think about having the monster jump over something when it could just spend an action activating levitate and essentially just walk across.

I was more wondering about subsequent rounds where it could 5-ft into / out of the pit containing squares or just having it active when moving normally and only seeing the effects when it is actually over the pit.

At this point I'm starting to think it couldn't 5-foot into / out of the pit squares but I don't see anything that says it couldn't have levitate active and just be walking on the floor like normal and take normal 5-foot steps.

--kronovan
It says you can move up and down as a move action and that you have no horizontal movement if you are above the ground. But what about if you can actually touch the ground and you choose not to levitate except when the ground falls away?

Sorry my initial post should have been clearer. I'm thinking about a horizontal 5-foot step as the spell clearly says any vertical movement is a move action.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As the title says. Does this work? I was running a session and had a monster use it to avoid having to move around a pit but otherwise stay on the floor. For clarity's sake it was a large monster moving over a 5'x10' pit.

Since I couldn't find an answer right away I ruled that the monster still had to take a move action. So was I correct or was I nerfing the monster?


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks for the replies.

I'll probably house rule that if it doesn't pierce the SR then the whole spell will fizzle as there is a "Target" in this spell rather than an area. Other than that it'll still jump to other targets even if the primary target makes his save.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I never thought about this before but how does Chain Lightning work when the primary target has evasion? No evasion but makes their save? Has SR?

This came up last session I was DMing. My players argued that since the primary target has evasion and made his save that the secondary targets would:
1) Not get hit because the primary target didn't get hit
2) Even if the secondary targets were hit they would also take no damage as the primary target took no damage.

To keep the game going I just agreed with my players and had the spell "fizzle". Does anyone know how this is supposed to work? What about if the primary target has SR and it doesn't pierce it?

Thanks!