Warden Rogard Hammerfell

codemephit's page

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.


RSS


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

The Core Rulebook and the PRD list the range of a Shortbow as 60 ft. One of the encounters in an adventure I am running has a diminutive sized archer (a sprite to be specific).

I find it hard to imagine a diminutive sized shortbow (~6 inches tall) would be able to shoot the same distance as a medium sized shortbow (~36 inches tall). If the force of the bowstring was ignored and we just assumed that both weapons fired with the same strength and intensity, then you must still consider the mass of the projectile. An arrow that is medium size (~18 inches long) will not be hampered by air resistance (and other factors) in the same manner as a diminutive sized arrow (~3 inches long).

Ultimately I would like to figure out how to adjust the range increment on weapons that are smaller or larger than the standard small & medium sizes.

Thanks
-CodeMephit


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Pym, Shor, and Vosi - Diminutive Weapons: In the stat blocks for these 3 fun little critters, it lists their gear as Short Swords, Shortbows, and arrows.

Since they are Diminutive creatures, it stands to reason that their weapons are also diminutive in size.

My Question: What are the stats for diminutive weapons (aside from damage which is listed in their stat blocks)? i.e. What do they weigh, how much are they worth, what is the range increment for the shortbows (this is probably the most important aspect IMO), that sort of stuff.

Thanks =)

-CodeMephit


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Thanks for the good ideas. I was unclear as to what the preferred method was to handle these situations. You guys have really helped sort it out for me, and in a very timely manner too.

Regards,
-CodeMephit


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Core Rule Book p460 lays out the rules for generating the magic items of a settlement (above the Base Value). It says to re-roll any item that is below the Base Value.

After looking at the % probability on table 15-1 (p461) it appears that potions and scrolls have the highest chance of being generated (by a steep margin).

I am generating items for a village. Base Value 550gp (Turtleback Ferry from RotRL). My results returned 2 potions from the Minor section.

It is not possible to roll on the Minor Table (for potions p.478) and get a result that is above 550. You would need to move to the Medium Table (and then only a 3rd lvl potion would qualify) to go above the 550gp limit.

My question is this: Should I just go with a 3rd lvl potion, or re-roll the item completely. If I just go with a 3rd lvl potion, what does one do when the Base Value for the settlement is 800gp or higher (as no potion would break the limit)?

I am a new to Pathfinder and I am learning as I go, so this is the first town in our Adventure Path that I have actually done correctly, and would like some guidance.

Thanks in advance,
-CodeMephit


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

You guys are great. Thanks to RD, Stubs, and AD. Your quick responses and clear answers have helped greatly.

-CM


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

My group is having some debate on measuring range (distance) for using ranged weapons. I am hoping I can get some feedback on how others handle it in their games.

A dagger has a range of 10ft. Consider the following setups:

[ ] = 5ft square
[H] = PC
[M] = Monster

Setup 1:
[H][M][ ][ ]

Setup 2:
[H][ ][M][ ]

Setup 3:
[H][ ][ ][M]

Of the above three setups, which is the one where the monster is considered 10ft away (the maximum a dagger can be thrown *without* incurring a penalty)?

Thanks for your input.

-CodeMephit

P.S. For what its worth, I personally consider setup 3 to be the farthest a dagger can be thrown *without* incurring a penalty. I get this from measuring the distance *between* the two occupied squares, but I have no idea if I am really doing it right or not.