Zhamer00's page

4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thanks everyone!

Just one more question about splash. Is it a burst or emanation?


Not that is written but wouldnt that be a decent use of Step?


hmm... Thanks for the clarification.

That is somewhat where I was leaning but I didnt catch on to the details of flaming rune persistent damage. So let me write some examples for you to make sure I understand.

I hit a target with a lesser acid flask with a crit:
1) Target takes 2 acid damage immediately
2) Target and any creature within 5 feet takes 1 acid splash damage
3) at the end of the targets turn, they roll 2D6 for persistent acid damage and keep doing it until target succeeds a flat dc 15 check

So moving on to say lesser Alchemist’s Fire with a crit:
1) Target takes 2D8 fire damage immediately
2) Target and any creature within 5 feet takes 1 fire splash damage
3) at the end of the targets turn, they take 2 persistent fire damage and keep doing it until target succeeds a flat dc 15 check

Seem right?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi,

I have some questions about Alchemist Bombs, Damage, and Critical Hits. It seems I keep finding conflicting information in the core rule book. At least, that's how I am interpreting it.

Concerning Acid flask. Here's what Im looking at:

Core p451 - DOUBLING AND HALVING DAMAGE wrote:
Benefits you gain specifically from a critical hit, like the flaming weapon Rune’s persistent fire damage or the extra damage die from the fatal weapon trait, aren’t doubled.
Core p544 - Spash Trait wrote:

Most bombs also have the splash trait. When you use a thrown weapon with the splash trait, you don’t add your Strength modifier to the damage roll. If an attack with a splash weapon fails, succeeds, or critically succeeds, all creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage. On a failure (but not a critical failure), the target of the attack still takes the splash damage.

...
You don’t multiply splash damage on a critical hit.

For example, if you threw a lesser acid flask and hit your target, that creature would take 1d6 persistent acid damage and 1 acid splash damage. All other creatures within 5 feet of it would take 1 acid splash damage. On a critical hit, the target would take 2d6 persistent acid damage, but the splash damage would still be 1. If you missed, the target would take 1 splash damage. If you critically failed, no one would take any damage.

Core p544 - Acid Flask Description wrote:
This flask filled with corrosive acid deals 1 acid damage, the listed persistent acid damage, and the listed acid splash damage.
Core p545 - Lesser Acid Flask damage wrote:
It deals 1d6 persistent acid damage and 1 acid splash damage.

1) I thought persistent damage was not affected by critical hits. This conflicts with quotes from pages 451 vs 544.

2) In the Acid flask description, there is a simple acid damage (not the splash one) that is not listed in the example or the Lesser Acid Flask damage block.

Any idea?