William Tabrisky's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Suppose at the beginning of my turn I decide to examine the top card of the blessings deck, and it's a blessing. I choose to encounter it. Will I still need to "advance" the blessings deck that turn or does my encountering of the blessing card count as advancing the deck (since the deck now has one fewer card in it)?


I placed an order (4109252) for the base game, the add-on character pack, adventure deck 2, and the ongoing subscription (starting with adventure deck 3). When I clicked to place the order, I was informed that three of the items had been cancelled (base game, add-on, and deck 2), and only the subscription with promo went through. My shipping changed from around 11 dollars for the whole order (I was being given a $10 discount) for a 6 lb box to $14.40 for a 1-lb box. I did not want to cancel the 3 items, and if I have to I'd rather cancel the entire order since there's no reason to have deck 3 (or beyond) without the base game or deck 2. What happened and how can this be corrected as soon as possible?

Thanks,
Bill


So...is there a need for an official ruling on this card? I've been playing it the way (I think?) isaic16 is describing it. I've been doing that since it seems to me a natural way of understanding the card's intent, and its power. Furthermore, the check for recharging it is quite difficult, so there's a high chance that you'll only get to use Recast once.

Still, it would be nice to hear an official call on the use of this card.

Thanks,
Bill


If Alahazra encounters a monster, can she play Recast to play an attack spell after her discard pile on the combat check against the monster? I'm wondering whether this would be breaking the rule regarding not playing more than one card of a type on a check.

Thanks,
Bill


It states on the card (second paragraph) that it can be shuffled into the deck and 2d4 could then be rolled for reducing the difficulty on a combat check (like Wand of Enervation). I'm assuming that this would count as playing a weapon and , thus, the same character couldn't also play a card such as the Keen Falcata +3 for the combat check. Am I correct?


Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:
Yes. The Wall of Blades is played "When a character encounters", which is a different part of the encounter sequence than attempting a check.

Thanks, Malcolm, for the clarification


Suppose I that Oloch encounters the Shrouded Queen, who requires 2 combat checks to defeat. Suppose Alahazra plays Wall of Blades when Oloch first encounters the Queen. If Alahazra takes the second combat check against Oloch, then can she still play a spell on that check (say Geyser) and use Wall of Blades, too?


So, the second sentence on this card has me a bit stumped. I'm assuming that you have to decide whether to banish the codex (or bury it) before looking at the three spells, but the second sentence is making me wonder whether this is true. Would it be okay to look at the three spells before deciding what to do with the Codex?